We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read reviews prior to booking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should have read reviews prior to booking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Check in was pleasant 3 staff members falling all over each other to help. As priority members we usually receive a couple of bottles of water (one for me and one for my wife). Here they give you one (I guess they assume we'll share). The hotel is not clean. The stainless steel on the elevator has smudges all over the wall. A maintenance man joined us on the elevator and was not dressed very well - he should have been provided a uniform or at least a company shirt. The room was not well cared for either and the sheet on one bed was dirty - a stain that probably couldn't come out in washing - but to make the bed with the dirt showing was ridiculous. Throw it away!! The breakfast girl did not clean the tables. She stood by and watched me clean my table with a napkin. As guests left their tables she just sat and watched - did nothing. The OJ was mostly water. I told here it might be running low and she went over, tasted it, rolled her eyes and went back and sat down. Did nothing. On checkout the gal was personable but she looked very unprofessional. Like the maintenance man she needed a uniform or blazer and could have taken time to comb her hair. I'm used to seeing professional people hosting at Holiday Inns - here they are not. For 125.00 a night it should show better. In 2 weeks of travels this was the most expensive and the least value. I would understand if this were a Mom and Pop operation trying to make ends meet. Holiday Inn should be ashamed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear RetiredGuy51,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant check in. However, I sincerely apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience you may have experienced due to the level of staff service received, room rates and how the staff's clothes fell below your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
45
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited over Memorial Day weekend with a group of girls for a Basketball Tournament. The staff was extremely helpful with suggestions regarding evening meals, the indoor pool and whirlpool made the trip for the girls, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast bar was maintained by USMC Vet Frank who did a great job and was proud of it. I would recommend this Holiday Inn to any travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Mkay, so we went to the Holiday Inn Express in Great Barrington MA for a wedding. I am already a holiday inn express fan because I like their breakfast. THIS PLACE IS BETTER than all the other holiday inn express' out there. A bold statment I know, why is it better? 1 reason Franjk (think I spelled it right). Franjk was the man, he ran the breakfast buffet at this holiday inn express and the man did it well. I chatted with him while I snacked on a bacon egg and cheese english muffin with some white gravey on top (all FREE CUZ IT WAS CONTINENTAL AWW YEA) and Franjk was in the Marines. Guy is a total BA. Runs marathons, his brother does karate, he kept that breakfast bar clean and stocked like it was nobody's business! Also he gave good hiking recommendations. We (lady friend and I) trucked it up to Bear Town National Park on his recommendation and walked all over that mountain. All around a lake. Signed some guest book and connected with nature. It was great. The rooms were clean, all the folks really nice. Check in was a breeze. Also there was this Sandwich place down the street called Schmidty's it was AWESOME. Big ole sandwiches with really nice people. Highly recommend this holiday inn and its dominant breakfast bar experience. Get excited!

Room Tip: Hotel is only 2 stories. The views were not great. But you are in western Massachusetts, go outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Great staff! Clean rooms, good breakfast,close to many attractions and things to do. Frank managed the breakfast bar and did a great job! College graduation the weekend we were there, so it was busy but not lacking for anything. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My wedding is in July and very close to this hotel. When I asked to block off rooms for my guests, I was told that they will not do this for me because they don't NEED local business during the summer. I understand that summer is busy in Berkshire County but local support is always important! This hotel would have been the BEST location and now our guests will need to travel a little more.
Also I was told the rooms would be over $400 per nite which is higher than the website, and again, no discounts for groups even though I'd be bringing a lot if business to them. I feel that this is a very ugly way to treat locals. Most of the people coming are from out of town and so I needed rooms or my shower in June and also about 50 rooms next winter for a work event. Obviously, we will be giving another hotel this business.
I did not appreciate being brushed off as unimportant.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nikki_P16,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights in one of the Jacuzzi rooms. The tub was a bit comical because it was bright red and in the shape of a giant heart. It was also front and center in the room instead of being back by the bathroom. That didn't stop my wife and I from trying it out. It took forever to fill up because the water pressure was low and the jets were really weak but the hot water felt good after a day of snowboarding.

The gas fireplace in the room was a nice touch. It warmed us right up and helped dry off our gear. The bed was really comfortable. The room and hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool happened to be closed while we were there which was disappointing.

There's a number of restaurants and stores nearby so the location is very convenient. It was 2 miles from butternut and I think Catamount is about 20 minutes away. There's a pub across the street from the hotel that brews their own beer but has terrible food. Breakfast in the hotel was decent and they didn't run out of anything.

Overall it was a good stay and I would come back if taking another trip up to Butternut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A last minute decision that I was too tired to make it all the way to my Boston-area destination led me to spend one night. I've stayed here before in traveling between New England and Pennsylvania. The front desk clerks were pleasant and helpful==which was not really the case on previous visits.The rooms are pleasant and the beds comfy. The free breakfast is better than average; I appreciate the convenience of it. I had an enjoyable chat with the breakfast host. It is wonderful to be in Great Barrington; I just wish it weren't quite so expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.