We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wainwright Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Barrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wainwright Inn
Save
You added Wainwright Inn to your Saves list
518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the carriage house for three nights. Marja and Robert were welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and Marja's dining recommendations were fantastic! She even called and made reservations for us. The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
71
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delmar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the inn for a one night stay on Sunday and took the recommendation of Marja to stay in the Edison Room in the back of the 1st floor. We were greeted warmly by Marja and Robert and shown the common areas before being shown to our room. It is a peaceful, private room separated by a small in-room hallway from the mail hallway. The room has two chairs and firm but comfortable bed and was very restful. There is a beautiful large living room with sherry and port available. The large porch was a nice place to relax in the evening or morning. Breakfast (3 course) was delicious with Marja taking into consideration our dietary needs and food dislikes. They were both very helpful with recommendations for the area and interesting to talk to about their background. It's convenient to the center of town, just 2 minutes drive down route 7. Well worth a return visit. Thank you Robert and Marja!

Room Tip: I'd pick the Edison room or rooms not facing the front, although route 7 noise would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your one night stay and that we were able to have you check out late.
We are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Marja ,Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A classic B&B, with large rooms, modern electrical fixtures and modern bath (lo-flush toilets, shower with fixed and hand-held heads). Window mounted A/C was reasonably quiet and efficient. Marja served remarkable breakfasts, changing day to day, with plenty of food, coffee, juices, home-made bread, with some individual variation. Large comfortable beds.
Some street noise, but that can be masked with the A/C. Robert and Marja are very friendly, and always working for their guests' benefit.

Room Tip: Away from street side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second visit to the Wainwright in the past few years. It's conveniently located a couple of blocks from the historic center of town. The innkeepers, Marya and her husband Robert, are charming and hospitable. A friend and I stayed there this weekend and had a wonderful experience. Both our rooms were great. Breakfasts included homemade waffles, kale smoothies, baked eggs, and very good coffee. Can't beat it for a place to stay in Great Barrington!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just spent 2 great nights at this beautiful Inn. The entire experience was superb and the Innkeepers Marja and Robert are charming and delightful. I would definitely recommend the Wainwright Inn to anyone looking for a warm, friendly place to stay!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only had one night in Great Barrington while grandparents had the kids, but were very glad we chose the Wainwright Inn. The room was great, Marja and Robert were extremely gracious, and breakfast was to die for. We were thrilled with the whole experience, and will try to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We arelooking forward seeing you another time and hopefully a lttle longer there is so much to do and to see in our town.
Regards,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I were able to leave our kids with family in exchange for a quiet relaxing weekend for just the two of us in the Berkshires. I was pleasantly surprised- Wainwright was a perfect fit for us because it is small enough to be quiet, quaint and private but big enough to not feel like you are staying in a stranger's guest room. The rooms are very beautiful and the house feels to me like a Victorian-age mansion. We loved that it is a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the town shopping, restaurants and bars, so we were able to enjoy the activities we wanted like dinner, drinks and dancing and then walk home to a quiet house and sleep.

The food is wonderful! The owners Marja and Robert are incredibly accommodating and kind. The breakfast selection was delicious and filling and I noticed Marja was willing to cook different options for each guest depending on their preferences. The owners also gave us great advice on what to do while staying- which for us included a trip to the spa for massages and shopping in the different towns which were all a very short drive away. I would definitely recommend. -Andrea and Frank

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time away from the children, hope the troat is all better.
We are looking forward seeing you another time so we can speak some more about the wine.
Thank you for your kind words and have a great summer.
Robert & Marja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wainwright Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.