We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parents of Simon's Rockers, take note!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wainwright Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Barrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wainwright Inn
Save
You added Wainwright Inn to your Saves list
518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
“Parents of Simon's Rockers, take note!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great welcome, on the phone ahead of time with Marja and when I arrived. Beautiful room, great decor, and delicious breakfast. The Inn is in Great Barrington itself, five blocks from the main shopping area and a five minute drive to Simon's Rock. I wish I'd found this before my daughter's senior year, but I plan to come back to keep exploring Great Barrington even after she graduates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are so thrilled that you had a good time with us and it was very nice meeting your daughter for breakfast.
We are looking forward seeing you again.
Regards,
Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
71
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My family stayed here quite a few weekends over the winter and loved it.
While our focus was Butternut, the ability to walk to the town was great without having to deal with parking in the town.
Breakfast was always excellent and the owners couldnt be nicer.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your response.
We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed staying at the carriage house during the winter, enought snow for sure.!
We are looking forward seeing you again this coming winter and again have some wine together in the front parlor with the fire place.
Good luck with the move and your new house.
Regards,
Robert & Marja,innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday. And I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. There was easy access to everything great barrington has to offer. The inn itself is beautiful. We felt right at home here. Not to mention the breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper makes you feel like family. It was like a home away from home. The fireplace in the living area is perfect ad cozy. I highly recommend the wainwright inn when looking for a quiet get away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We only booked a night but I wish I stayed longer! The room was beautiful, it was just what we need no distractions just peace and quite. Very clean and proper. The beauty and charm of the vintage house is only out down by the friendliness and welcoming abilities of the care taker (Sorry I forgot your name). She made us feel right at home and breakfast was amazing eggs, fruit, smoothies and coffee with fresh pastries. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to get some quite time in, or for a big family looking to have a place to call home away from home. I took my girlfriend there for her birthday best thing I could have done for the both of us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
So happy you enjoyed your short but sweet stay with us, we are looking forward seeing you and your friend another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were planning a few days of skiiing at Butternut this past week and found the Wainwright on line. We decided to try it, as it was only a few moments from Butternut and were extremely pleased with our choice. The Inn is wonderful with it's Euorpean charm. The rooms are cozy and very nicely decorated. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable. The Inn Keeper, Marja, and her husband Robert made us feel right at home. Each morning, Marja prepared a wonderfull breakfast for us including fresh fruit, homemade breads and cakes, and loads of other delights (all included in the price of the room). In the evening we would share some wine and interesting conversation with both Marja and Robert in the sitting area near the fire. Marja was also helpfull in directing us to some very nice restaurants in the area for dinner. One was better that the next.

We would highly recommend the Inn and are looking forward to a return trip in the near future.

Susan and John T.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Edison Room that we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much John for your wonderful review.
Robert and I enjoyed spending time with you and Susan.
I am still working on the so... good muscat 2004 you made and gave to me, thank you again.
We hope to see you back soon.
Enjoy the summer, it is almost here.
Regards from both of us.
Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Wainwright Inn during [yet another] blizzard, whose new foot of snow sat proudly atop the previous 18" already laid down this very long winter. The Wainwright's welcome was warm though. We enjoyed our long weekend there, our home base for a President's Day weekend visit to the Berkshires.

A big attraction for a visit to an inn is the house itself - how charming, how richly renovated, posh, or cozy is it? Wainwright's Victorian is old, and feels old - and that is good! The house's clear old-ness made my visit feel like a visit to an aunt's house, an aunt with great taste, but without a lot of airs. The house was beautiful, with all the requisite charm and detail, but without the straining for polish and perfection that so often makes an inn feel precious, too delicate to really relax in. At the Wainwright the painted wood floors creak a little, the pretty floral wallpaper shows its age, the antique furniture is worn - all just enough to let you know that they are not new, but not so old as to feel decrepit, musty, or forlorn. Just nice and old - worn in, homey.

Located a block south of the center of Great Barrington's thriving historic downtown, the site was quiet and charming. The host, Marja, was great - because the weekend was busy and she needed our single room, she upgraded our three-person party to the spacious "West Wing" family suite, with two bedrooms and a bathroom. The bed was remarkably comfy, soft but not mushy; for a cold night, the bed's thick flannel sheets and satin quilt were just right.

Breakfasts were top notch, quite gourmet. Always a first course - fruit, a smoothie - and a main, nicely put together, pretty and tasty. The casual, comfortable air carried into breakfast, where shared tables made new acquaintances with other guests natural and enjoyable. The kitchen door is open to the dining room, with Marja and a helper chatting with everyone as they served and prepared. Marja was helpful and knowledgeable about the area, eager to help us with our days' activities.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so... much for your wonderful response and so happy to read you had a good time, you put in words what we always hope our guests feel when they are staying in our house.
We are very much looking forward to see you and your family again next Presidents Day Weekend,enjoy the summer.
Until than.
Robert and Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I recently made a last minute weekend skiing trip to the Berkshires and was thrilled with my choice to stay at the Wainwright Inn. The rooms are well appointed and cozy, each with their own bathroom. The inn keepers are wonderful, capable of carrying on a conversation, or leaving you to yourself, should you choose.

I loved being right outside of downtown Great Barrington. The food choices are wonderful, and within a relatively short walking distance.

I would not hesitate to book another night here in the future.

(BTW, the breakfast was quite good as well!)

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs tend to be warmer than those downstairs, perfect in the winter, but maybe a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Matt,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Garden room where you stayed is one of the warmest rooms in the house specially when the sun is shining thru all the windows, however the heat can be controlled in the rooms and in the summer all the rooms have a/c, so in case you will visit us when it is warm out side you can make the room as cool as you prefer so please no worry's
We are looking forward seeing you again.
Regards,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wainwright Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.