We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wainwright Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Barrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wainwright Inn
Save
You added Wainwright Inn to your Saves list
518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
MA
1 review
“The very best B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This year was our 7th visit to the Wainwright Inn! The warmth and charm of Marja, (the innkeeper) and Darryl (her very capable 1st assistant) welcome you to their inn. From our first visit 7 years ago, including an extended family week-end, to this last visit in July, the ambiance and decor remind one of being at home. The breakfasts are wonderful, the conversation always fun, and the front porch is a haven to enjoy the flowers, read and have tea and cookies! Marja works very hard to maintain the Inn's standards of cleanliness and excellence. Seven years of visits and we never tire of the beauty and comfort of "Our Berkshire home".
E & D Bernardi, Scituate, MA

  • Liked — Comfort, food, ambiance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

My fiance and I spent one night at the Wainwright Inn this past weekend on a multi-night B&B excursion across the state. We found Great Barrington to be a truly perfect, small and relaxing Berkshire town. There were several restaurant options along with many shops in the center of town. The B&B itself is on Main Street about 1/2 mile past the town center. The property is beautiful and has a wonderful history to go with it. Marja, one of the innkeepers, is just an incredibly nice person. She made us feel at home and gave us a short tour of the inn. Our room had a working fireplace which I had asked for. It was fairly spacious, although, hard to follow our previous nights room (read Black Walnut Inn review in Amherst, MA). The bathroom, as well, was good sized and overall our room was what I had expected. The one issue we had in the room, or moreso my fiance, was that there is a steam heater (at least in our room) right next to the bed that was rather noisy. I had steam heat in a previous home so it was not an issue for me but my fiance did have difficulty sleeping with it and I could understand why despite it not particularly bothering me. The following morning our breakfast was very pleasant. There were several tables in the room for each party to eat. We started with a great cup of coffee and some delicious zucchini bread. Next was fresh fruit that was a perfect followup to the bread and you could tell it was of the freshest quality. Lastly, we finished with homemade french toast with an orange zest and a great local maple syrup. The experience overall was great and we will certainly be back to the Berkshires. There is so much more to do then available time. The Norman Rockwell Museum is a must do, just an incredible facility. The town of Great Barrington, although lacking in any real bars/nightlife, was more than we expected when it came to food (See Pearls Restuarant review, fantastic!) and shopping. My fiance and I often stay at B&B's and are fairly easy to please. At the same time, its important to be as honest as possible in my reviews. Our only other complaint is that as we were stepping out the door to leave, we were grabbed and provided with an envelope to tip the housekeeping staff. I have no problem with the tipping aspect but there should be a more efficient and polite way (leave the envelope with a note in the room maybe?) to execute this process. I would certainly, due to the history, friendly innkeepers and plentiful breakfast suggest this inn to anyone traveling to the southern Berkshires.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in the Wainwright Inn, a former 18th century tavern into a lovely arranged accommodation. Marja, the very friendly
owner knows how to satisfy their guests with a wonderfull, rich and every day changing brakefast, made from best regional recipes. The rooms are big and comfortable and also very silent even the Inn is situated at the Main Street. It was hard to leave this lovely place.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the owners
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, NJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

The Wainwright Inn is a historic home built in the 1700's, and convereted into a bed-and-breakfast with private baths and many private fireplaces. My wife and I came there for a getaway weekend in Mid-October 2007, and enjoyed a terrific time. The rooms have no televisions or telephones, just a clock radio-- a plus from our point of view (there was a television in a study upstairs for general use). The innkeepers, Marja and Robert Tepper, are welcoming, efficient, and provide a great cooked breakfast that is high on quality with just the right amount of quantity-- enough to fill you up, but not too much to ruin your diet. Our room looked out on a lovely backyard garden. The hosts offer port or sherry in the living room downstairs. You will find yourself just 15 minutes from Stockbridge, and 12 minutes from a real find-- the John Andrews Restaurant in Egremont, with a new American flair, combined with Italian accents that we loved.
The prices were comparable, if not lower than, bigger stalwarts in the area, with a warm, cozy feeling we appreciated. We'll be back.

  • Liked — The fireplace in our bedroom
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We brought our friends from Germany to the Berkshires to take in the fall colors. The Wainwright Inn proved to be a perfect example of what an elegant yet friendly inn can be. The rooms are spacious and clean and the innkeepers warm, friendly and informative. The breakfasts were truly gourmet wonders (three courses, starting with fresh baked goods, followed by fruit of the season and finished with a well presented and tasty main course). There is fresh coffee throughout the morning as well as an assortment of teas. The inn is a short walk from downtown Great Barrington, which is a very nice destination in and of itself. Various hikes are a short ride away (we went to the top of Monument Mountain and enjoyed some breathtaking views of the surrounding valley in it's fall splendor). The only caution I would give is that if you are a light sleeper you might want to avoid the two rooms next to the TV room where people gathering to talk or watch TV might be bothersome. Overall we had a very enjoyable time and can highly recommend the Wainwright Inn!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

An exceptionally clean and welcoming large, antique home a short walk from the downtown business district with it's shops and many restaurants. We were there for a 2-night getaway just after Labor Day when things tend to be quiet after kids have returned to school. A great area for antiquing and the many cultural activities avalable.

The innkeepers, Robert and Maria, are warm, helpful, and accommodating and Darrell plates a gourmet breakfast each morning served in the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

The Wainwright Inn is the quintessential B& B experience. The place is a wealth of history and charm and is decorated very tastefully! It is clean and has amenities such as hairdyers (even make-up removal cloths). We felt right at home because Marja and Robert take you in "like family". Marja is personable, patient and caring. Daryl who helps make the breakfast and all the delicious pastries, is a delight. The breakfast was delicious and unique and everything is made from scratch with care. Even the recommendations for hiking trails were perfect. ANYONE who wants a true B&B experience in a great town in the Berkshires should definitely stay here!!

  • Liked — Ambiance and Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Traffic in front of the Inn
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 South Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wainwright Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.