We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, Gracious innkeepers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thornewood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thornewood Inn to your Saves list
Thornewood Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   453 Stockbridge Road, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
White Plains
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, Gracious innkeepers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I spent the past weekend as a guest at the Thornewood Inn. It was a friendly, warm comfortable place to share some lovely time with friends. The common areas were open and airy with lovely views and many comfortable spots to curl up with a book.Our room was clean and pretty, with quaint period decor. Terri and Dave, the innkeepers, were very gracious and made our stay feel personal and special, in fact, after admiring one of their many beautiful plants, I found myself going home with a hefty cutting for my own home. We had a delicious dinner the first night we were there and the chocolate port cake is especially delicious. Breakfast is generous and varied. I had the yogurt with their homemade granola. I heartily recommend this inn and very much look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    4
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My lady and I wanted a quiet weekend away, just to get away from all the distractions of our busy lives. It was the long weekend (President's Day) and we just wanted seclusion and quality time alone. With pretty much a last-minute decision, we contacted David and Terry at the Thornewood, and they were able to get us in, in a room we really wanted with fireplace. Upon arrival, David and Terry were prompt to greet us and made us feel very much at home. We settled down in the Master room, kicked up the fireplace and we were off! After some relaxation from a long drive (mid-coast Maine), we had a delicious dinner, complete with glasses of great wine, then retired to what would become a fantastic weekend in the Berkshires. This is a delightful inn, set nicely just a bit back from the center of town. It is loaded with many antique pieces for those with such interests. The heart of town is a very short and easy drive, to ski areas, the Rockwell Museum, and most anything else the traveller might desire. We would highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a quiet, cozy atmosphere and great dishes at The Point.

Room Tip: If you like fireplaces, choose one of the rooms so equipped. They are easy, as they are gas but add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I wanted to get away during the week for a few days and do some skiing and we found this place through LivingSocial. It was delightful The room was lovely, with a sitting area and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to sleep late. After skiing Butternut, the chocolate fondue in our room was just perfect. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and a great way to start our next ski day to Jimmy Peak. Came back from skiing all day to enjoy wine in the room and Dave the innkeeper gave us a great place to eat dinner in town that night. The next morning after breakfast we enjoyed our passed to the Norman Rockwell Museum The Inn has some great antiques for sale. I would enjoy going back, however next trip I would book over the weekend because I would like to visit the restaurant that wasn't open during the week when we were there. The location was great and the innkeepers were charming.

Room Tip: Book early. Ours room had a flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, small private bath, nice hot show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet weekend getaway for Valentine's. We came across Thronewood Inn through LivingSocial. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which is a lovely room with a sitting area and french doors that open into a cute backyard. The bathroom is a bit small, but clean, with the necessary amenities and a nice Jacuzzi tub. The king-sized canopy bed is a great touch to the room and perfect for what we were looking for. The comforter could have been a little cleaner, though the linens were fresh.

David and Terry were absolutely wonderful. They were both very warm, welcoming and easy to talk to. By the end of the trip we felt as if we had made new friends. They made sure our stay was comfortable.

The dining area was cozy and relaxing and the food was excellent, although a little pricey for our budget. The trout was thoughtfully prepared and well seasoned - a must try dish!

The location is conveniently located on the Stockbridge/Great Barrington line with hiking areas, restaurants and a brewery all within just a couple miles. We had a fabulous weekend and would certainly recommend our friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: The suite was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I and our friends booked a Fri-Sunday stay at the Thornewood not knowing what to expect and found it to be delightful to say the least. We have two small dogs and the Thornes(David&Terry) did NOT charge us to have them stay with us. We all had comfortable accommodations in their two carriage houses. At the end of our stay(we stayed Jan.27-29,2012) we took a look at the Inn's accommodations themselves and found them to be very nice. Anyone who does not have dogs would be glad to have such nice rooms at the Inn. Getting back to our meal-we ate dinner there on Friday night and found the food to be EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD from our entrees to dessert the food was excellent. There was also a piano player during dinner as well as accompanying guitarist and singer-David Thorne himself and the music was very nice. When we arrived that Friday we were given a complimentary bottle of wine as well as passes to the Norman Rockwell Museum. We also had wonderful breakfasts there each morning-not continental but complete meals cooked by Terry and David. The apple French toast and great homemade pancakes were two breakfasts during our stay that just stood out. I can't say enough about how nice it was to spend these few days with some wonderful and friendly people and to stay at an old Inn like this in Great Barrington, MA. We recommended them to other friends when we arrived home . A final note-the Inn is now in it's third generation of family ownership as the grandchildren do a lot of the work around the Inn. Pete and I often went up to the end at the end of the evening to have an after dinner drink and the bartender is -guess who? David himself. We look forward to going back again. Ed and Pat Roberts

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Inn are fine to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Thornewood Inn for a short winter reprieve, on what ended up being one of the coldest weekends of the Winter. Our vacation package included passes to the Norman Rockwell Museum and a dinner at the Inn's restaurant, The Point, an exceptional value. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by Dave, the owner, and were impressed by the genuine warmth of him and his family. They welcomed us into their home as friends, not merely guests, and did an exceptional job at making sure we were comfortable. Impressively, every "employee" was a member of their family, adding to the warmth of our stay. The dinner at The Point was delicious and we later learned prepared by the grandmother on the property, as was the warm breakfast we had both mornings. As for the room, it was simple and clean with all the necessary amenities. We happily spent a couple of evenings watching the NFL playoffs with other guests, who were also impressed with the innkeepers' hospitality. A slight glitch was thrown into our stay when the power went out in the city of New Barrington while it was a mere 6 degrees fahrenheit outside. We were staying in Carriage House #2 with our dog, who was welcomed in to the main house with us during the power emergency, considering the extremely cold conditions. There we gathered with the innkeepers' and other guests around the warmth of a log fire. The family remained calm and continued to be just as accommodating as ever, although luckily the power resumed within a couple hours. To sum it up, I will gladly stay at Thornwood Inn during my next trip to the Berkshires and would readily recommend this lovely Bed and Breakfast to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

A rambling inn within minutes of really nice town of Great Barrington. Very friendly, personal, accommodating service. Room was clean and comfortable. Dinner was surprisingly good, very good. I had an early departure, and staff offered to make me an early breakfast - I did not take advantage, but offer was very nice. Liked the front porch, sitting room - felt like a room in someone's vacation house. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Address: 453 Stockbridge Road, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.