We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, sparkling clean, lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Mountain Motel

Save Saved
You added Monument Mountain Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monument Mountain Motel
247 Stockbridge Road, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great value, sparkling clean, lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We only spent 1 night at this motel, which really doesn't look like much from the outside. Your typical roadside motel, all on 1 level. But it was a great stay, close to perfect.

The room was small, but very adequate. We had free wifi in the room, which always helps when you're traveling. There wasn't the possibility of making coffee/tea in our room, which is always something we miss. But they did have it in the lobby. Bathrooms have all be remodeled recently & are very high quality. Windows apparently are new as well. You can tell the owners really care about this place.

Location-wise, it's about 3 miles out of the main part of town, so not too long a drive, but the area is just highway, nothing too pretty. We didn't care, as we only stayed the one night, but I might have looked for something closer to town next time.

We drove about 1/2 mile (maybe even less) to the Barrington Brewery for take-out dinner which was quite good. BTW, they have an incredible-looking chocolate cake that we resisted, but I would strongly suggest someone try it & get back to me. It's about 12" high, no exaggeration!

The owners of Monument Mtn. Motel were quite lovely & helpful. The value could not be beat. Though it was high foliage season, we only paid $85 + tax for a room with 2 double beds.

Highly recommended if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
65
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WOONSOCKET
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Several people have said that they found this place pricey. Compared to other lodging in the area, we thought this place was a bargain. We booked our room through AAA's website and paid $65. per night. for 3 midweek nights. This is a basic motel and they don't serve breakfast. Two nearby chain motels/hotels which do provide breakfasts were charging $140. and $90. for the same nights. We didn't think that the included breakfasts warranted the price differences, but others may feel differently about that. The room was smallish but very clean, and it had a small refrigerator and microwave, and everything worked. All rooms are strictly non-smoking and pets aren't allowed. There is a swimming pool but no jacuzzi. They may have had WiFi but I'm not positive. There was no noise through the walls from other occupants. There was a bit of road noise, but the motel is right on route 7, and it wasn't a problem for us. The only minor drawback was the limited number of electrical outlets, but we were able to manage, The manager was helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

There's nothing wrong with Monument Mountain Motel for a few nights stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious enough (though having to climb on the bed to reach the AC was not particularly convenient) and the bed was comfortable, as was the little sofa in the corner. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. A pleasant, but perfectly ordinary, little motel.
My only real problem with the place was the price. I know it's the Berkshires - and I know that the price is very competitive for the area - but I really feel that almost $200 a night is excessive for this type of accommodation. Particularly as there wasn't any kind of complimentary breakfast available and no tea/coffee machines in the rooms(though there is a coffee machine in reception). I stayed in several similar properties during my trip, all of which were less than half the price, all of which provided coffee machines in the rooms and sometimes breakfast.
I would stay here again - anywhere else in the area seems to be at least as expensive and doesn't have the good reputation - but I don't think I'll ever be comfortable paying this much for a basic motel room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

The hotel owner was so friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely. We hope to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here with our two dogs in August 09. The place was spotless. New, very clean bathrooms. The owners initially charged $20/dog per night, which is the highest pet charge I have ever seen. However, they dropped the dog charges after the first night.
It's not cheap, but nothing in the Berkshires is in the Summer. We paid $85+40 the first night and $85 the subsequent nights.

It's on the main street (Rt 7) in Gt. Barrington, but it was not noisy. Nice play area and pool behind the hotel.

There was no coffee in the room (fridge and microwave - yes), but when I asked the owner, he gave us a portable coffee maker. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a very clean and well kept older roadside-type motel. We had a great room with a nice king size bed, brand new bathroom, fridge, microwave, and a great TV. The proprietors are really nice and helpful. The other guests were really nice friendly people. My only concern was that the lock on the door was pretty old and did not look too sturdy. Even with this we slept the entire night without anything waking us. I wish there were more places like this. It was a nice change from staying in chain motels. Well worth the low price. the best part for me was that it was scrupulously clean without perfumes, air fresheners, or awful cleaning products.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

The motel is very clean and has great mattresses. We spent one night and our room was quiet and has the basic amenities. The proprietor and his family work very hard at making you feel welcome.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monument Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Mountain Motel

Address: 247 Stockbridge Road, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Monument Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monument Mountain Hotel Great Barrington
Monument Mountain Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.