We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Euro chic in an old school motor hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Briarcliff Motel to your Saves list
Briarcliff Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute Euro chic in an old school motor hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A very friendly English couple has brought charming, cute Euro chic to this old school motor hotel. My wife and I came for two nights during for a summer wedding and we enjoyed our stay. It's really a B&B as there was delicious scones, yogurt and granola and coffee served in the morning in the very cool lobby area with 3 comfortable places to sit. They even had gluten free bread (and see very willing to accommodate requests/needs).

The owners had great recommendations on hiking (the Monument Mountain trailhead is a 2 minute WALK down the road) and Great Barrington spots. The location is sweet - being convenient to hikes, the towns of GB, Lenox, and Stockbridge. Free Wifi too is key given the spotty cellular coverage in the Berkshires.

Enjoying wine and cheese at the fire pit (they supplied the wine glasses) was superb. The only downside was the linens - they felt stiff and cheap. If I remember right, the unified body wash/shampoo dispenser isn't the best either (i don't mind being economical and environmental with a dispenser vs 1000s of little throw away bottles, but at least do shampoo/conditioner and body-wash).

Landscaping is a work in progress and I could see this being even more inviting with the right execution and make the fire pit/picnic area in front a must chill at space.

Overall a great value and space for enjoying the Berkshires.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi and thanks so much for reviewing us. Just wanted to address your point about shampoo. You're right about the tiny bottle situation: before we ever had a hotel (not that long ago), the thought that there was a huge mountain somewhere of half-used bottles used to really bother me. (And the foothills would be made of shower caps and shoe kits!) On the highly unscientific basis that no woman I know would dream of using generic hotel shampoo, we decided to keep it simple and go for pump dispensers with a Method body wash/shampoo. But as time has gone on, we decided to keep some tiny Pantenes up our sleeves, just in case. What I probably need to do is get that info across better to guests, preferably before they're standing in the shower with soap in their eyes. So, thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
133
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Briarcliff for 3 nights. The rooms were spotless, the location is perfect - right between Stockbridge and Great Barrington. Claire and Richard were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. We especially liked the convenience of their kitchenette facilities to heat up our leftovers from our dinner the night before which saved us eating out for one night. There are several common eating areas which were charming and the whole upgrade from a sixties motel to to a quaint b&b was very appealing. Even though Route 7 is a main road, we couldn't hear any traffic and slept soundly in the very comfortable beds. Would definitely return in the Fall for a foliage visit!

Room Tip: There are also pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Briarcliff Motel. After spending the day sightseeing, we played board games at one of the picnic tables. In the evening we enjoyed sitting by the gas-lit fire pit. Our room was comfortable and spotless. The delicious breakfast included locally made yogurt, home-made muesli, freshly baked scones and muffins, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juice. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the owners and staff are. Just down the road is a large supermarket if you want to stock your in-room refrigerator. Also nearby are Home Sweet Home donuts (so good!) and Riverbend Cafe (great coffee). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This a a Motor Lodge converted to a B&B, of sorts. The room was extremely clean and comfortable with a refrigerator. My wife said the place was spotless. Since all the rooms are on one floor, it was easy to drag our suitcases into the room. That's a real blessing after staying on the second or third floor of other hotels and B&Bs. The amenities are modest, and there was no shampoo or conditioner--not a big deal. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are situated far enough off the road so that traffic noises are a whisper. The owner was very friendly and convivial. A continental breakfast is served tomorrow. The Motel is very close to Great Barrington and there is a shopping center near with a Kmart and a Price Chopper. This is a good place to stay and a bargain for this part of the Berkshires. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hey Leon! Thanks for your kind words, and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves at the Briarcliff. Just wanted to correct one thing you said: we do supply an all-in-one Method bodywash and shampoo in every room, and we have small bottles of Pantene shampoo and conditioner available to anyone who needs it. Wouldn't like you to think that we don't care about clean hair here at the B'cliff (Richard has less reason to care than I do, but he still cares).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A one-night stay was enough to make me want to return to GB for a return visit to the Briarcliff. The rooms are spacious and airy, large comfortable beds, and charmingly appointed. I said to my husband as we were getting settled that if we owned a motel, this is what I would want it to be. The owners were helpful with local recommendations, and served a lovely, fresh breakfast in the morning, which we enjoyed sitting in the back of the common area, looking out into the woods. Our need for a pack and play and adjoining rooms were accommodated. Just a bit out of town itself, which could make it inconvenient if the roads were bad or you are looking to walk into town, but has the benefit of being quiet, and the more natural backdrop out the windows.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madbury, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

So glad we stayed here. Welcoming, very comfortable bed, fun, very clean, spacious rooms, quiet, great breakfast. Convenient to everything. Recommend hightly! It was also great to have adjoining rooms with our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Travelled in New England for three weeks mostly in hotels. The Briarcliff was a welcome break offering great value motel accommodation. Really nice breakfast. Spacious and comfortable room. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliff Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.