We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming motel qua B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Briarcliff Motel to your Saves list
Briarcliff Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming motel qua B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A one-night stay was enough to make me want to return to GB for a return visit to the Briarcliff. The rooms are spacious and airy, large comfortable beds, and charmingly appointed. I said to my husband as we were getting settled that if we owned a motel, this is what I would want it to be. The owners were helpful with local recommendations, and served a lovely, fresh breakfast in the morning, which we enjoyed sitting in the back of the common area, looking out into the woods. Our need for a pack and play and adjoining rooms were accommodated. Just a bit out of town itself, which could make it inconvenient if the roads were bad or you are looking to walk into town, but has the benefit of being quiet, and the more natural backdrop out the windows.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
140
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madbury, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

So glad we stayed here. Welcoming, very comfortable bed, fun, very clean, spacious rooms, quiet, great breakfast. Convenient to everything. Recommend hightly! It was also great to have adjoining rooms with our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Travelled in New England for three weeks mostly in hotels. The Briarcliff was a welcome break offering great value motel accommodation. Really nice breakfast. Spacious and comfortable room. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Briarcliff was a perfect respite after a 10 hour drive from VA en route to Maine!

We enjoyed a picnic (Manhattan Pizza delivered) by the firepit with our pups, while our 3 year old was able to run and play. The firepit and beautifully landscaped front lawn (loved the lit trees!) was such a nice touch.

The staff was warm and welcoming. Jeffrey was super sweet with our son and Samantha was very helpful with reservations. Breakfast was delicious and a nice break from "road food".

We look forward to making this an annual stop. Next time we look forward to arriving with time to explore the local restaurants and will be sure to make time to hike Monument Mountain, located directly in front of the motel.

Many thanks to the whole Briarcliff Crew for a lovely stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Such nice folks who own the place - and they helped us out with a complicated scheduling bind we were in (and we are very grateful!). Funky details in the rooms, very comfortable beds, quiet, amazing use of space. SUPER clean!! Surprised to have a nice-sized fridge in our room. And a lovely breakfast in the awesome common area. Great price in an otherwise very expensive area. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Did a girlfriends weekend in western Mass. How lucky we were to find the Briarcliff! Cool and charming all in one. Great job of making a vintage motel really hip! Breakfast was lovely, innkeepers divine. Rooms really nicely updated and a luscious fire pit too! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley, pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I had to visit the area for reasons of visiting a local medical facility for my son. Atlhough it was a difficult trip emotionally, the owners made us feel very welcome and offered great local tips. The decor is so great, and the owner so accommodating in sharing her decorating and shopping tips. The firepit is the best--sitting around the pit when the sun goes down with complete privacy. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to the areas of great barrington, stockbridge or lenox.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliff Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.