We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay at the Briarcliff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Briarcliff Motel to your Saves list
Briarcliff Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Staatsburg, New York, United States
1 review
“Our first stay at the Briarcliff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved our stay, everything from the booking - warm personal service over the telephone - to our checkout, all was even better than the website promised.

Cleanliness: Our room was very clean - very - with lots of fun and useful accouterments: iPhone doc alarm clock, funky bedside shelves, resto mini fridge, authentic 60's pink sink, immaculate shower, and lovely carpet.

Great coffee: The breakfast was so worth catching each morning. For one who worries about getting a decent cup of coffee, this was not a worry at the Briarcliff! Locally roasted coffee brewed rich with a choice of milks and creams was such a nice touch. Fresh fruit assortment, homemade granola (nuts, oats, berries, seeds - yum!), yogurt, a fresh bread (pumpkin, banana, etc) plus a buttery flaky scone of the day (dill and cheddar one day, fruit the next) - these were so great to prepare us for a day on the slopes.

Personal touch: Either the proprietress or her husband or their caretaker were always on hand to recommend a museum, or just chat.

Proximity - Whether it is a grocery store you need, a choice of restaurants, museums or Ski Butternut, everything was within 5 minutes of The Briarcliff.

This was quite a lovely stay - really made our little ski vacation that much better. We're looking forward to booking our Berkshire vacation here again.

Thank you!

Room Tip: room 17 was great - on the end with a great view. I suspect all rooms are equally the same as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
135
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As others have said, this motel was a perfect place for our family of 4 (two small children) and another family of 4 (also with two small children). We had two rooms next to each other with adjoining door and worked out very nicely. Close to Butternut for skiing and to town for food and shopping. There are two great toy stores in town where our kids played for at least 30 minutes and also an amazing candy store close by. It was our first visit to this area and planning on coming back again and stay at the Briarcliff Motel! Thanks to the owners, Clare and Richard, for being so attentive and for such a wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My extended family likes to ski, and rents a ski house near Great Barrington every year. There are usually something like 10 children under the age of 12 in the group, so I prefer to stay in a local motel or hotel while my 7 year old daughter stays with all her cousins. I have stayed at the Comfort Inn before (perfectly adequate), but over President's Day weekend this year I tried out the Briarcliff. I am so glad I did.

The place is a renovated motor lodge and is not a luxury experience. It is, however, clean and comfortable, with lovely owners who are on site and take good care of you. The rooms are decorated in a hip, modern, Ikea-style. The breakfast is awesome (fresh, homemade muffins, scones and granola every day). I love supporting a small business and the personal touches really do make all the difference. The motel is 5 minutes from Butternut so was very convenient to everything I needed.

I would definitely stay here again, either on my own or with my daughter. It is perfect for a family ski weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

As others have said, this is a redone motel that was built circa 1960. The room was a good size, bright, cheerful and very clean. The owners, Richard and Claire, two expats from London, were delightful. The breakfast was simple but sufficient. As others have mentioned, the scones and granola were delicious. The view across the road to monument mountain is lovely. I have a feeling that in the spring and summer, the Briarcliff is even better because you coud then sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Good location close to great barrington. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great overnite here on our way to Albany. These folks are what you'd hope to find in accomodation proprieters. Richard offered excellent guidance on eats and made reservations for the place where we planned to dine. My wife was suffering from a cold and Clare kindly delivered a blanket to us.
The room was as expected: comfy, clean - just great.
What was not expected for me was the sweet tasting water in the shower.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This newly renovated 50's modern style experience couldn't have been more perfect, especially in a land of printed wallpaper with curtains to match. We loved our room (nice and roomy and clean) the location (minutes from downtown Great Barrington) and the morning breakfast (amazing homemade scones and granola and coffee from Barrington Roasters). Will 100% go back. Incredible, incredible value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Warm and welcoming, rooms are spotless, hosts couldn't be more accommodating. Homemade breakfast was delicious - the owners even delivered it to us when our kids were having a bit of a meltdown. This is the only place we'll stay when we go for a ski trip in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliff Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.