We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This place is amazing...really surprisingly good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Briarcliff Motel to your Saves list
Briarcliff Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Wow! This place is amazing...really surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was lucky enough to be placed in one of the upgraded rooms and could not believe what a beautiful space Richard and Clare have created. I found them randomly but will return anytime I'm in the area. The bed was so very comfy; the duvet soft and beautiful; the water hot and plentiful; the furniture was nicer than what I have in my own home...it was all just lovely. I would only request that the same attention to detail is given to the towels...they were thin and of a poor quality and did not match up with the fab decor and linens. Try it; it's beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded and renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    58
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
140
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I were so pleased with the accommodations at The Briarcliff Motel. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and inviting with quality sheets and duvet. There is a flat-screened tv and DVDs are available at the office.

The innkeepers, Richard and Claire, are so nice. They are sincerely welcoming and attentive.
The breakfast offered is freshly made muffins, fruit, home-made granola, along with teas and coffee.

The Briarcliff Motel is a reasonably priced, lovely, quiet refuge in what can be an over-priced area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked a 5-night stay based solely on the very positive reviews posted on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed in any fashion. The hospitality was warm and attentive, and we truly felt that we were staying with friends. Clare and Richard are in the process of renovating the rooms, although we stayed in one of the others. Even so, the accommodations were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed delicious breakfast treats, including fresh fruit and pastries - a definite bonus! The owners shared our enthusiasm for the region, and helped us with several recommendations of places of interest. We are already looking forward to returning to this beautiful location, and can't wait to see how the Briarcliff continues its 'evolution'. Thanks, Clare and Richard!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I along with two other couples recently took a trip to the Berkshires and stayed at the newly renovated Briarcliff. The check-in/out process was seamless and the customer experience was lovely. It's a rarity today to find yourself enjoying a complimentary homemade breakfast filled with sweet cakes, fresh coffee and good conversation with the staff. We definitely plan on returning to Briarcliff on our next outing to the Berkshires! 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This newly renovated inn was recently taken over by a lovely British couple who were generous with their time and gave great recommendations for a local dinner. Very sweet decor, immaculately clean, great coffee, and a very convenient location. A wonderful value for the money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great place to rest your head. Clean , comfortable, and very affordable. The owners are very accomodating and helpful. would certainly stay there again. Beautiful well kept grounds. The owners are in the process of renovating all the rooms. They also have PET friendly rooms!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

by chance we stayed at the Briarcliff Inn last weekend and were pleasantly surprised not only by the wonderful hospitality we experienced but also by the charmingly done renovation which transformed the old tired motel into a modern, lovely B&B feel property.
the innkeepers Clare & Richard made our stay warm & cosy and really went beyond their 'duties' as they provided us with an extra blanket for our daughter' crib and even brought out allergy friendly breakfast alternatives for her in the morning...
We will definitely be back not only to enjoy the area & the motel once more but also to see what the upcoming renovation plans will bring ;-). A motel to be recommended to everyone enjoying B&B style accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliff Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.