We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Briarcliff Motel to your Saves list
Briarcliff Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I travel rather extensively throughout Massachusetts for business and sometimes for pleasure. When one travels to our "touristy areas" - Berkshires/Cape Cod - it can often be a gamble on accomodations, meaning they can be overpriced and not comfortable or clean. The Briarcliff, which I stayed at the for the first time last month, was sensibly priced, clean, updated and was clearly a labor of love for its new owners. I had had a long day of driving and meetings, the owners gave me an excellent recommendation for dinner - an indication of their commitment to being part of the local fabric - and returned to my room to watch the Red Sox on a new flat screen TV! The bathroom was immaculate and the bed was a delight. In the morning, I crossed the street and took in a beautiful dawn hike on Monument Mountain. I returned to a healthy and nicely presented continental breakfast, cleaned up and headed out having felt like I actually escaped the rat race for a bit. In the future, I would return for business and I would bring my family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    58
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
140
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ware, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Briarcliff Motel (August 26, 2011). Briarcliff is a great value that delivers on everything promised by their website.

The owners (Richard and Clare) placed us in a room (#9) that was spotless and very well kept. Room furnishings and the bathroom were new and trendy in design. A light continental breakfast came with the room (excellent tea, amazing coffee, fresh muffins, yogurt with granola [the latter is specially prepared by Richard and is very good!]).

We visited Briarcliff because it is conveniently located near Tanglewood in Lenox-Stockbridge, MA. The hotel is reasonably priced for the peak season ($165/night for the specific room we booked; $184.30 with taxes). The hotel is also close to downtown Great Barrington (a cute little town center with an eclectic mix of eateries, shops, etc. and easy public parking) and the more touristy centers of Lee and Stockbridge, MA. Obviously, Briarcliff is also well positioned to accommodate those who want to view the fall foliage.

The owners have been in operation for about year. They have done an amazing job renovating and updating each room of a traditional 1960’s motel. The personal attention provided by Richard and Clare gives this hotel the feel of a B&B.

No question on our end; we recommend the Braircliff Motel to anyone and we look forward to booking our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We needed a dog friendly room---the Briarcliff has two available. Ours was not one of the "updated" rooms, but it was very clean, the beds were super comfortable, and the motel had plenty of greenspace to walk the dog. The hosts were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast, while simple (tea, great coffee, muffins, and DELICIOUS granola), was more than satisfactory. I can honestly say there are no negatives about this little place, only positives, and if you are looking for a room in the Berkshires, and one that is reasonably priced (for the area), you will be happy with the Briarcliff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Clare and Richard are doing a great job! We were participating in the triathlon.

They went out of their way to help us, even before we arrived. They helped us make arrangements for a canoe. We wouldn't have been able to compete without their help. They went the "extra mile."

A very nice stay. Wish it could have been longer. John

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Was looking for a place in the Berkshires without the oppressive "chintzness" of the other establishments and found the Briarcliff. Rooms were pleasant and functional and the setting was beautiful. But more than anything loved Clare and Richard who own the place. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and who have wonderful recommendations about what to do, see and eat.

And they serve a mean breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are searching for a minimalist/modernish boutiquy berkshire b&b without floral patterns all over the room Briarcliff is the place for you. Not only will Clare and Richard make you feel welcome; they will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. We were there for a triathlon the following morning, so Clare took it upon herself to start serving breakfast (with delicious home made granola) extra early.

You won't be dissapointed.

Andrew

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night, two would have been better so we could have enjoyed the great room longer, and talking longer with the wonderful hosts Richard & Clare. A fresh modern take on a B & B style, without being in someone's house (or dealing with country antiques).
They really did a great job on renovating this motel to be a cool, modern sleek feel. And the homemade granola Richard makes, really is wonderful.
As far as suggestions, Richard was spot on when he recommended the perfect farm to table restaurant for us to dine at in Great Barrington - Allium.
Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd., Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliff Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.