We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Chowder - Heres how to beat the lines!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Restaurant

Causeway Restaurant
78 Essex Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-4930
978-281-5256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Rockport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Fish Chowder - Heres how to beat the lines!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Order take out when they are busy and the lines long - eat at the beach - if your order a bowl of chowder for take out you will get the same as two cups for far less $- Best prices at lunch - somewhat noisy since they updated floors with tile - Truly Excellent fish chowder - Swordfish Caesar awesome! - but the Sword boats must be in as they do fresh.not always available....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    116
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eh, it's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

If you like fried food, this is your place! We stopped in after a day of deep sea fishing (catching!) for lunch. There was about a 20 minute wait for a table for four at 2pm. the place is definitely where many locals go, it's short on appearances and the bathroom was less than clean. the batter on the calamari and the onion rings was light but bland, which is what my dining mates said about their fried shrimp and fried oysters. Gwen had clam chowder and a salad and she said the chowder was delicious. I had a Greek salad with grilled shrimp, it was OK nothing special. our waiter was less than attentive, the fried stuff was all served with tartar sauce and we asked for some cocktail sauce, and had too up to the counter to ask again for it after a 15-20 minute wait. the check was also slow to arrive. You certainly get a hungry heifer sized portion, and the prices are ok, but would not return here

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“extra large servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

best food in town with more than ample portions of the freshest fish around been eating there for 6 years

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

No question about it. Very large portions & well worth the wait. Appetizers are great & so are the main course. You can never go away hungry. Every thing was great. A must . BE PREPARED TO WAIT. For a real treat, sit at the counter & watch your food being prepared

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fried clams in Gloucester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Got there, very noisy atmosphere, bad acoustics in the small restaurant. Had to wait in line for a table so decided to get food "to-go". Got it rather quickly. thought hmmmm. Got home and it was some of the best food I've eaten in Gloucester, I can only imagine how good it would have been right from the fryolator eating in the dining room. At least eating at home was quieter. Whenever I get to Gloucester I go over the Causeway, if there's a line outside, I get it to go...one of these trips, maybe, there won't be a line... GREAT and plenty of food. I highly recommend to ALL.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Causeway Restaurant also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Causeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.