We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Restaurant

Causeway Restaurant
78 Essex Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-4930
978-281-5256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

You can make 3 meals from the portions.... Best fish chowda!! Excellent prices always packed long wait to sit but if you can't get a seat take out is very quick !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    117
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fresh seafood- lots of it and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Causeway hardly needs the publicity to attract more patrons as it is usually crowded especially on a summer day. Open year round, the seafood is fresh off the boat, and simple fair. No alcohol license so byob which adds to the cheapness of the place. So much food that you can have leftovers for dinner the next night. Or do take out and order half the number of meals as you have people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When in town...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yup! A "go to" when in Gloucester. Don't expect anything, except fried food. Tables are really close together. But, you will always get your money's worth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AWSUM, SIMPLY AWSUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I live in western Pa and visit the Boston area several times a year. We don't have any type of fresh seafood where I live so to get great fish is a plus. This was the first time to the Causeway and got there in the off peak hour, around 2:30. Was seated and Im a lover of whole belly fried clams so that is what I ordered along with the fries and cole slaw. Also was servered rolls and butter which would have been better if warmed but were fresh anyways. When I started on the fried clams I was amazed at the pure size of the serving, which was at the very least double what ANY other resturant gives. The cole slaw was very tasty and fresh and fries were very good, but my main concerrn were the clams. I can't begin to tell you how fresh, tender and sweet they were.. I just wish that I had know about this resturant in my past visits to the Boston area. You can bet you a*^ this is the very first place on my next visit. Awsum, simply awsum

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Still the place to put on the feedbag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

One year later we found ourselves once again able to make a stop in Gloucester and of course make the requisit trip to the Causeway Restaurant for dinner. The place never disappoints in that the meals are fresh homemade and the portions are quite frankly just ridiculously large. This time we knew better than to get 2 entrees and just split the Seafood Marinara - holy geeze - a nice fresh salad first with fresh bread and butter, and we had yet another meal we won't soon forget. The only negative on the place is it's quite noisey, so don't expect any real ambiance or romance - it's a place to go eat good food and not go away hungry.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Causeway Restaurant also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Causeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.