We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bass Rocks Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Atlantic Road, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The view from our room was gorgeous and falling asleep to the crashing waves was beyond relaxing. We stayed on the second floor with a balcony and the room was large, clean, and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful starting with Brandon at the front desk. My son enjoyed the fresh chocolate chip cookies and lemonade but there was also tea and Starbucks Coffee available in the lobby. Great hotel, definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    56
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
71
158
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

It was my husbands 65th Birthday and I gave him a surprise trip for a few days away on the ocean. I saw the web site for Bass Rocks Ocean Inn and booked the trip on line, not knowing anything other then the web info. Boy did I pick-em!!! This inn was wonderful for many reasons.
It had the best views being right accross from the ocean and at night you could hear the waves crashing. The room was perfect. From what we could see I believe every room was perfect for ocean viewing. Hospitality was the best from Brandon, who was great and very helpful, to everyone there. The Blueberry Muffins coupled with Starbucks coffee and great chocolate chip cookies topped the stay off. Bass Rocks Ocean Inn is also a good start off point location if you want to spend time at any coastal beach setting or a short trip to Rockport.

Thanks Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Everything was great. Was a little surprised that there was a road between the hotel and the ocean, but that wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: Had a second floor door with open balcony. Next time , might get either a first floor or second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband, my twin 6-year olds and I spent 3 nights at the Bass Rocks Ocean Inn over the Memorial Day weekend. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to return! When I reserved our room, we had a choice of a 1st floor room with a patio or a 2nd floor room, for a little more money, with a balcony. We chose the 1st floor, and I am really glad we did. While I am sure the balcony rooms had a better view of the ocean, we were placed in one of two rooms that had a large patio from which we could walk straight into the heated pool. Since my twins wanted to spend much of their time in the pool, this was perfect for us! The hotel rooms and grounds were extremely well maintained -- they cleaned the pool twice a day -- and the breakfast was very nice. My kids especially loved the warm chocolate chip cookies and lemonade that were available in the afternoon and evening and my husband and I enjoyed the all day free Starbuck's coffee. The amazing view of the ocean was the icing on the cake! We can't wait to go back! One tip, if you would like to go to good harbor beach (it can be seen from the hotel and is only a short drive from the hotel), the front desk will give you a discounted parking pass ($10 off or $25). Once you enter the beach parking lot, you can come and go all day for one price.

Room Tip: If you have children who want to swim in the pool, request room 105 or 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at the Bass Rocks Ocean Inn over the Memorial Day weekend. The rooms were very clean with a gorgeous view! We checked in the hotel with Brandon, and he went over and beyond to help us make our stay wonderful . The continental breakfast and hot chocolate chip cookies were a great bonus. The only complaint was the bathrooms were a little small, but very clean. We will definitely be back to visit the Bass Rocks Ocean Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area, because the pool area can obstruct your view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed just one night in mid-May and wished we could have stayed longer. Rooms are very nice and the staff friendly. Breakfast was just fine in a nice setting looking out over the ocean. The view was lovely from our patio, watching the fishing boats go by. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Could not have ask for a more perfect place to stay. The staff was so welcoming. The views from the room and observation deck were breathtaking. I will certainly be planning another trip.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bass Rocks Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Address: 107 Atlantic Road, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bass Rocks Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bass Rocks Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Rocks Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.