We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azorean Restaurant

Azorean Restaurant
133 Washington Street, Gloucester, MA 01930
978 283-5500
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I had an early dinner here today, the restaurant is adorable.....really piqued my interest to visit the Azores. We started with a bowl of Portuguese Kale soup that was good but served warm, really not very hot. We also shared a carafe of Red Sangria that was delicious but you'd be better off ordering it by the glass as it was so full of ice. I had the Portuguese Haddock and it was delicious and piping hot but the Punch Potatoes again were barely warm. My husband had the Paella and it was good, it had plenty of shrimp, a few little necks, mussels, a piece of boneless chicken and saffron rice. We had a lovely time together, our server was nice, the bread and dipping oil was yummy and the restaurant is so cute. I've been dying to try the Azorean but I've had much better Portuguese food in Fall River.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Impressive Portugese authentcity and varied menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived, we expected to see a more rustic setting and it was quite the opposite. The restaurant was clean, atmosphere was inviting and the staff very accommodating. We ordered some tapas to start along with the kale soup and some sangria's. The menu was expansive and authentic. I had the Portuguese Haddock, my friends had the Shrimp Mozambique and Grilled Cod Fish...all outstanding. We especially enjoyed the Pasteis De Bacalhau. Overall, we enjoyed our dining experience and would definitely return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow! The 'real deal' where Portuguese food is concerned!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, BEAUTIFUL, CLEAN interior. The kale soupa was perfectly perfect. The food was plated beautifully and had great flavor. We would have traveled from Boston just to dine here because it was so good (did not have to do that though as we were on our way to Newburyport) If you love Portuguese cuisine this is a place not to be missed. Whoever put this restaurant together did so with thought given to every small detail (the music was also perfect !) Loved every minute of our dining experience there. Now have to find a restaurant this good in Fresno, California!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Kale soup and a pinaapple torte! Perfect lunch! Blue tiles and ethnic decor give great aosphere! I find. Great lunch menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent variety of Portuguese food wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Vibrant menu with regional Portuguese appetizers and main dishes. Had the fava beans for an appetizer, and a main dish of seafood pie loaded with scallops, shrimp and fresh haddock. Dining partner had a scallop pie. Each was served with beautifully crisp asparagus and potatoes.Oour wine was a kind of vino verde, crisp and slightly bubbly with an tart finish. Too much food for dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azorean Restaurant also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Azorean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azorean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.