We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, yummy food, fine presentation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

Alchemy Cafe & Bistro
3 Duncan St, Gloucester, MA 01930-6001
978-281-3997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 185 Main St.
Description: You should have no problem finding Alchemy. It is a great restaurant.
Williamstown, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place, yummy food, fine presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The flat bread was a great starter and the flavor was quite good. The service was good too. The menu is a little pretentious which may put some people off, but I'm glad we pushed through. Nice combinations of flavor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Now This Is A Great Little Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

OK, I admit it, I hear the retail music in every store, but that's what clicked in my head when I walked into Alchemy - great downtempo grooves washing the room. The menu is adventurous for those who dare and dressedup pub fare for those who want to go "nice." Throw in original cocktails and you have a great Gloucester MA restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ambience, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very cool place, lots of different zones with different kinds of seating. Regular restaurant tables, a nice, classy bar area, and couches in a little lounge. The menu was amazing if you like tapas (I do!). Things weren't done perfectly - I had bacon wrapped dates and the bacon was not crispy. The pork belly tacos were great once I took out the incredibly hot peppers. The diver scallops were perfect, no complaint there. Overall, the service and ambiance were so good and the menu choices so fantastic, I'd definitely go back even though the food could use a few little improvements.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On our most recent of many visits we enjoyed an early dinner at the bar. Alchemy always has a really inspired selection of craft beers on draft and as always the bartender was truly knowledgeable and helpful. The bar is a very friendly area with great conversation. The food is consistently excellent and creative from great small plates to delicious entrees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've been here before, enjoyed it immensely and therefore we booked for brunch to celebrate my birthday. It was very disappointing this time.

The service was slow and inattentive. Our waitress brought me coffee that had grounds in the cup and a cup of decaf for one of our companions that was cold. When she returned with another cup of coffee for me, it was in a small narrow mug, not the big round one she's served it in before. What's with that??!!

I had to ask the hostess if she could ask our waitress to take our order -- and the place was almost empty of customers! My husband and I ordered a Gloucester Benedict (made with lobster) and a mushroom salad with a quail egg to split. The lobster was watery and not fresh; the eggs and the benedict sauce were semi-warm and well on their way to being congealed. Ugh!

And once again, I had to ask the hostess to ask our waitress if we could order -- this time dessert. It was some kind of pudding with dates -- overly sweet and a very strange texture.

The menu is imaginative, but the execution simply did not live up to what we'd experienced previously. We'll give it another try sometime and I'll report in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.