We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach

Long Beach
off Rte. 127A on Gloucester-Rockport town line, Gloucester, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Attractions in Gloucester
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
kapot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was of the most beautiful beach I've ever seen, the sea was great, the beach is really long the sand is white and the water is transparent! I went there at 8 o'clock in the morning and I have been in that amazing 2 hours completely alone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best crescent beach in Massachusetts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I grew up vacationing on this beach when there was a Chicataba Inn (sp?), and I brought my family there last summer. My children and wife loved it. It is a great beach to walk, play in the sand and swim. The water is a bit cold but this is the North Shore folks and the sand is not rocky at all. Awesome beach, not touristy or too crowded. Beautiful sunrises and a nice view of the the twin lights ... a real find.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

You must go at low tide and enjoy the beach. It is incredible! Gloucester has few really nice beaches, yes the water is cold, but it is New England!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

beautiful, unspoiled, and very serene place to walk - we happened upon quite a bit of sea glass which was wonderful to collect and were pleasantly surprised to see cairns on the rocks at the end of the beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Iconic New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed on Long beach every summer for as long as we can remember. It's not for everyone and sometimes I wonder if it's the sense of nostalgia that keeps me coming back. There's nothing like walking the beach touching you toe to the rocks on each side of the LONG stretch of sand. The twin light houses are picture perfect. The boardwalk is quaint with kids walking, eating melting ice cream from the ice cream truck that parks itself at one end each day. Crabbing is great at low tide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Beach also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.