We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gloucester House Restaurant

The Gloucester House Restaurant
63 Rogers St, Seven Seas Wharf, Gloucester, MA 01930-5043
+1 978-283-1812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 132 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Gloucester House restaurant is renowned for its local lobster dishes and for the freshest North Atlantic seafood, prepared to perfection. Having been among the first to popularize fried calamari, our specialties range from award-winning clam chowder to homemade bread and cornbread, from Dottie's bourbon cake to Lily's wine list, and from Sambuca mussels to blackened haddock tacos to a fried fisherman's reuben sandwich. We always cook to order and have gluten free and vegetarian menus available, as well as children's meals. Dine full-service on our outdoor, dockside deck or eat lobsters in-the-rough on our harbor side wharf. Located on historic Seven Seas Wharf, there's something for everyone here: shop for souvenirs and local art at our General Store gift shop, enjoy a sail on the Schooner Thomas E. Lannon, or see the whales aboard Seven Seas Whale Watch. Whatever your fancy may be, the Linquata family invites you to join us year-round for a true taste of New England.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Right on the harbor, hard by fish and seafood processing plants. The boats come right in here, It doesn't get fresher. But more important, it's so good, Try the fried clams and go home happy. I've had fc's all over New England and these are the leaders and best. Sit on the terrace if it's warm enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    109
    68
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LORAIN
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely dockside atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely place but we felt it was overpriced for rather standard seafood fare. Good not great for the price

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Had some fresh lobster when we stopped in Gloucester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were walking back to the cruise ship from seeing the Fishermen's memorial. My husband wanted to eat some lobster so we just happened on this restaurant. We sat outside and watched the fishing boats returning with their lobsters. Nice relaxing view outside. My husband and I shared a Lobster special. I never was partial to lobster but boy was this absolutely delish. Guess, it makes a hugh difference when something is fresh out of the Atlantic ocean. I've never had anything like that before. Also, really enjoyed their delicious cornbread. Yum! Yum! Glad we found this place before getting on the boat. i took pictures of our food and put them in our photobook so we can remember the best lobster ever :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food,felt it was a little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two of us had the fried haddock sandwich (the least expensive item I think) We asked if it could be grilled-no. The other person for health reasons, tried to avoid fried foods so she ordered a salad with something like Bing Bang shrimp, thinking they would be steamed or grilled. They were fried. The fish sandwichs were huge,tasty and the salad was good. So why not an excellent rating? We were looking for fresh,healthy(unfried) seafood, for a little less money.
PS The cornbread was delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples fl
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife, a lobster lover had a fabulous lobster dinner. Me, a non seafood guy had chicken that was a little tuff to cut. So she was happy so I guess I'm happy. She'll tell you it was a great place for a lobster dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gloucester House Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to The Gloucester House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gloucester House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.