We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprise & going back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Motel to your Saves list
Vista Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Pleasantly surprise & going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband & I have traveled to Gloucester & Good Harbor Beach on & off during the past 37 summers with & without our children who are now adults. We love Good Harbor Beach for it's pristine sand, sea glass-colored water & breathtaking view of the Atlantic. We have stayed at another inn on Atlantic Road all of the past visits but were looking for something more affordable near Good Harbor. We were so pleased with the cleanliness of the Vista Motel and our room was more updated than shown in the web photo. The staff here was very friendly & accommodating. The continental breakfast provided fresh coffee, juice, milk, fruit, yogurt, donuts, muffins, breads & a variety of cereals, all included with the price of our stay. The staff were helpful in making suggestions for restaurants for dinner. They provided towels at the pool and the pool was heated. Cleanliness is priority for us and this place is very clean! We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    104
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
107
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It is no wonder that Vista continues to receive favourable reviews. It genuinely deserves them. Special mention goes to the lovely cleaning team. Receptionist was so pleasant . Her daughter, Tina you will see on Captain Bill's Whale watching boat. She is great and is an enthusiastic whale researcher ,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice room, nice location, great view over the beach and close to the City of Gloucester - and it even has a pool. I would recommend it to everyone. We were a family of four, two teens and two adults. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Vista. The motel is located right across the street from beautiful Good Harbor Beach. The hotel sits up on a hill so all the rooms have a beautiful view. Because parking at Good Harbor Beach can be a problem, especially on a beautiful, hot summer day, it's a big plus that you can walk to the beach. The rooms are very clean, the front staff friendly, and the continental breakfast delicious. Best place for your money to stay in Gloucester.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If what you plan to do is drive to the beaches near Gloucester and spend the day, this motel could be a good option. It's also very close to a grocery store (Shaws) if you need to pick up picnic food. There is a pool and they serve a simple breakfast on a sunny patio. The rooms are comfortable with TVs and free wifi.

The ambiance is lacking for a romantic get-away, and it's not great if you like to walk places, but I'd give it a thumbs up for families. We chose it because it was a last minute idea for July 4th weekend and our regular places were booked. It was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We like to come every year and enjoy the beginning of summer. The rooms are always impeccably clean and confortable and the staff is very helpful. The beach is great. Gloucester is a very interesting town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Vista over the weekend, and had the most pleasant, helpful, accomodating service. The staff was personable and professional, facilities clean, pool well maintained, breakfast easy and relaxed. I would go again for sure!

Room Tip: We really liked the fact that our room was above a carport. It kept our car cool in the shade. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. Open year round and offering Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with full cable and HBO, free Internet access, and complimentary breakfast and newspapers, the Vista also has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.