We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Motel to your Saves list
Vista Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
“Always a Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been vacationing in Gloucester for many years and always have a good experience at the Vista. The view is beautiful, the staff friendly and easy to work with and the rooms are always clean. Very accommodating all around and being able to walk to the beach if needed is a bonus!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    104
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
107
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartstown, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I just returned from staying in the area for three days. Staying at the Vista Motel was very relaxing, overlooking the beautiful Good Harbor Beach, The staff was informative about the area. The breakfast had a variety of foods (cereal, donuts, muffins, yogurts, juices, coffee) to choose from. The room and accommodations were comfortable! I would highly recommend this motel to anyone planning on staying in the Gloucester area!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor efficiency due to our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just returned from two days at Good Harbor Beach with our two grandsons. The staff at the Vista Motel was very accommodating in letting us check in early and leave a little late (so that we could spend a few morning hours at the beach). The office can give you a discount coupon for the Good Harbor Beach parking which worked out great for us and all of our beach supplies. The continental breakfast consisted of everything we needed and having tables inside and outside created a great place for us to eat. Our grandsons LOVED the pool which was very clean and had many beach chairs available. The view from our room was fantastic. The room décor is dated and could use some simple cosmetic upgrades. The beds were comfortable and the grounds were well maintained. We had an efficiency room (refrigerator, stove, microwave) because of a late reservation which we didn't use but others might. This was a return visit for us and we hope to return. It is obvious that the owners take pride in their motel.

Room Tip: Because our room was on the first level, we felt more comfortable closing and locking the sliding do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding that was near by and would definitely stay again. The view, staff, rooms, were amazing, accommodating, comfy in that order. The pool and breakfast were awesome as well. The owners really do care about this motel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My senior mom and I stayed for our 5th year and it was a consistently good stay. As usual, all the staff from the owners/caretakers/office are very nice and accomodating. Breakfast continues to be a good variety of cereals/breads/donuts/yogurts. Outside and inside tables. Pool was great temp and always clean. I would make one suggestion of a few more shaded areas with umbrellas, since it gets constant sun. We like the rooms with 2 queen beds that have a carport under. If you have any issues/concerns, they are dealt with immediately. On our last day, we had checked out and stayed for a while at the beach. We had asked if it was ok to come back and use the pool for a while before going to dinner. They said "no problem" and you could change in their changing room inside. Great way to extend the last day at The Vista! Mom and I will hope to be back next July! PS (mom (85)) thought a handrail in the shower would be a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you have any handicaps with mobility or stairs, you will want the low building with no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poultney, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We love our stay at the Vista. Great staff. Beautiful views. We had a wonderful stay
Close to the Beach, shopping center and town. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Quiet and clean. Beautiful view of the beach and the ocean. Fireworks on the beach Sunday night were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was very accommodating. If you need anything the staff is more than happy to help. While we were there we had two power outages in our room only. The first one took all the power out. They fixed it while we were out for the day, but after we got back we noticed the fridge & microwave we out again and it started to defrost the freezer on to our food and drink. Bathroom supplies (tp) was at a minimum and we ran out. Over all it is a nice place, very clean. Beds are very comfy. They have a noise policy from 11pm-7am absolutely no noise will be tolerated which we found very nice. A security guard walks the grounds for safety, and to enforce the policy.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 120's are upstairs and away from the pool (which is very crowded)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. Open year round and offering Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with full cable and HBO, free Internet access, and complimentary breakfast and newspapers, the Vista also has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.