We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Motel to your Saves list
Vista Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. We were allowed our pet chihuaha. Loved how we got to spend time at good harbor beach at sunset very romantic spontaneous and fun! We were the only couple on beach. Great spot if passing through with a small pet. The coffee was good in morning. Rooms have good view even wild turkeys came up to our patio! The place amazed us for the price! Fun time there for just passing through.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    104
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
107
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

My mother and I stayed here on our first trip to the area. It was clean and quiet. I liked the convenience of having the carport under our room, too. All the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially with all the suggestions and directions we kept asking them for!). It's a quick trip into downtown Gloucester for any restaurants or shopping. And wow that view!! All-in-all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Great motel, we stayed here while on our road trip around New England. This made a great stop for our first night out of Boston. Excellent value for money, and great views, worth upgrading to the sea view rooms! Would go again!!!! Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia. AR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is an older property, but it is extremely well maintained and very clean!
The staff is extremely friendly, courteous and most helpful. Complimentary breakfast was great and my wife is still raving about the donuts!

There is no dining room, but it is a very short (5 minutes) drive to the restaurants along Gloucester Harbor.

If you want to kick back, enjoy a change of pace with a beautiful ocean view, this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quimper
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We shall save wonderful memories of our stay at Vista Motel - just so practical, efficient, view of the sea and to be able to do our own meals was so important, not being restaurant fans and trying to eat healthily. With Shaw's just around the corner it was perfect. Great location near all sorts of cultural things to see and do as well as lovely
walks in out of the way places. An independently run family place is ever so much nicer than the hotel chains and really this was more convenient than the bed and breakfast formula where you have to spend your time finding restaurants and getting very sick of restaurant meals. Bravo - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is perhaps one of the very few ADA compliant handicapped facilities in the Cape Ann area. Service and hospitality was above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

After a bad experience at the Sea Breeze in Bar Harbor, we were pleasantly pleased with our stay at the Vista. The room was very quiet, roomy and clean. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful in recommending restaurants on Rogers Street in downtown Gloucester. The motel sits on top of a hill with a great view of the ocean. They have a small but adequate continental breakfast near the pool each morning. Fresh muffins, pound cake, donuts, cereal and fruit. We only stayed the one night but got a quiet good nights sleep. We will definitely return to this motel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Road, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. Open year round and offering Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with full cable and HBO, free Internet access, and complimentary breakfast and newspapers, the Vista also has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.