We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Atlantis was nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantis Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Atlantis was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

I saw the Atlanis on a Tripadvisor review. When we arrived, i was pleased to see the quality of the Motel was in line with the reviews (if you are from the Central US and have preconceptions of Motels, Motels are actually nice places in the Upper North East).
The gentleman that checked us in was friendly. They had menus of all Gloucester restaurants. It was a late night and he called all the restaurants he recommended to see if they were still open; a very kind gesture.
We booked the lowest level room on the 'garden' floor. It was approx $140/night (early Oct) and you could still see the ocean from the room. I believe that you can spend $20 more per night to get to the second floor and that probably would give a better ocean view, if that is important to you.
There is a restaurant at the motel only open for breakfast. It's decent and relatively inexpensive. I don't want to take anything away from the restaurant, but I say take the 10 minute trip and go to downtown Gloucester for breakfast.
When going to downtown Gloucester from the motel, take a right out of the hotel and see the beatiful house/views as you travel toward Gloucester

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    46
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pitman, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

My wife and I, and one other couple, stayed at the Atlantis for 5 days early in September. We had third floor rooms. View was spectacular. Rates were reasonable. Rooms were immaculate. Staff was very friendly, but professional - well informed as to local matters, and directions for tourists. Breakfast in the Cafe was delicious, with varied choices, and priced moderately, with large portions. Well situated for walks along the seashore. Easy to access Rt. 128 which is apparently the "backbone" of Cape Ann. Especially enjoyed the coyote calls from the golf course adjacent to the parking lot. Can recommend whole-heartedly, without reservations.

  • Liked — All around satisfactory - no one single thing.
  • Disliked — No complaints whatsoever.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ansonia,ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Breathtaking views, spacious, clean room (but not fancy), helpful, friendly staff, fabulous breakfasts.

  • Liked — view, calm, casual atmoshere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

The Atlantis was just what we wanted! We stayed on the top floor for three nights. Don't expect a five star pampered experience-instead, you get the feeling of having your own little cottage on the ocean. Perfect. The view from the balcony was so beautiful...the waves crashing on the huge, rounded granite rocks. Just down the way, the sandy Good Harbor beach-we could have walked there, but drove so we could have all our "stuff". The pool was nice and overlooked the ocean. The room was very clean. The small refrigerator was just right for keeping some snacks and beverages-and there are grocery stores near enough. We had two adults and two older teens and we did not feel cramped. Having a front and back door added to the openness. We ate at the breakfast restaurant attached and found the prices very reasonable and the selection was varied. I recommend the special oatmeal with pecans and cranberries (about $4.50), and the Atlantis sandwich which was an egg on english muffin with fresh spinach (about $6.50). We ate most meals out-and the staff at the desk had lots of information and recommendations for local restaurants. We will most definately be back.

  • Liked — The location, the view of the ocean.
  • Disliked — A little noisy in the mornings from the back/parking lot area-but not overly annoying.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The other reviews are right - this place was terrific. The views from the balcony are classic - ocean waves pounding into granite rocks. The rooms seem spacious because each has a balcony and also a back entrance onto the parking lot, so you can walk through the room. But we were two adults and two kids so we felt a bit cramped by the end of a week - we would definitely need something bigger. The hotel seems more geared towards adults than families - there were only a few other kids around. The pool is nice. My biggest suggestion is that there should be breakfast included - the food in the restaurant is great but we only ate there once because it was so expensive (otherwise we ate in the room, which had a fridge).

  • Liked — Ocean views
  • Disliked — No kitchenette, no internet, limited space for a family.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Large, clean rooms with beautiful view of the ocean. Friendly courteous staff. Reasonably priced.

  • Liked — large clean rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Our room was absolutely spotless! The owners have thought of everything. Don't expect a luxurious spa-like experience here but you will not be disappointed. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean. OMG it was gorgeous! The restaurant downstairs is excellent offering healthy, delicious food with a great view. I stayed with my husband and teenage daughter. We had two double beds. I was happy to see that they are being eco-conscious by asking that you leave a card on the bed if you want the sheets changed. We really didn't need to have them changed every night. We would have liked to have the option of having two queen beds or a king and a double or a cot but this was not available. My only complaint would be that this was not an option for us, as my husband and I had to share a double bed. Although I got an elbow or two in my face, I slept like a baby. I believe the mattresses are a little soft and they've put pillow top covers on them. My husband has a bad back and the bed was not comfortable for him. We stayed four nights at $200 a night. The pool is much larger and nicer than the more expensive Bass Rocks located right next door. The owners have planted a beautiful flower garden around the perimeter. The place runs like a top, what can I say. We almost stayed at the Vista but my husband, the Google map freak, saw that the Vista backs right up to a large shopping center. There is a gold course behind the Atlantis and only a few residences nearby. It is in a perfect location, walking distance to Good Harbor beach, best beach on the north shore.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The beds were doubles, no other options offered
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Address: 125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn offers all the comforts of a large hotel with the freindly, attentive atmosphere of a small inn.We provide pristine accommadations that include oceanviews, air conditioning, refigerators, balconies or terrace sitting areas.Breakfast is offered daily in our oceanfront cafe'. Indulge in our creative and unique menu choices while enjoying the breathtaking view. Swim in our outdoor heated pool or stroll down to Good Harbor Beach just3/4 miles away. Located close to y restaurants, and many exciting activities make the Atlantis a perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Oceanfront Hotel Gloucester
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.