We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantis Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here about 3 weeks ago. We were very pleased. You could tell the hotel is an older property but it is so clean and well kept. The staff were very accomodating and friendly and we loved the town, too. Would recommend if you are in the area. Only drawback is the shared balcony but this would not keep me from returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    46
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel sits on a sleepy road above a rocky coastal cliff along the ocean with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean and Thacher Island. The room was originally booked for two but, at the last minute, two more family members were able to join us. The hotel was more than helpful to accommodate us in the same room since they were otherwise booked solid. We found the hotel to be clean and very comfortable. We loaded up on snacks and drinks in the nice sized refrigerator (way larger than a mini fridge), and there was always plenty of delicious coffee in the room for the coffeemaker. Our room was on the ground floor allowing us to walk right out onto the terrace and sit outside and enjoy the view of the pool and ocean right outside our door. It was wonderful to be able to sleep with the door open and feel and breathe the ocean air. The pool was clean and towels were provided. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast restaurant and the lobby is filled with brochures on all activities. Everyone at the desk was so helpful in answering all our questions. We asked for a late checkout and although they were booked solid for check-ins, they allowed us to check out an hour-and-a-half later. We can't wait to visit Gloucester again and, of course, we plan to stay here again! This is a gem!

Room Tip: Every room appears to be a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cant say enough good things about this place. Super clean. Comfortable. All the staff were excellent. The breakfast restaurant is wicked good. Right on the ocean and every room truly has a view.
I'd live there if I could afford it. Its on the higher end of price. But not ridiculous. Worth every penny. And I rarely say that let me tell you.
I will be back next time I'm in Gloucester for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the ocean. But the second floor rooms have the best view and a terrace to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We returned in late June for our annual three night stay at the Atlantis and were again impressed with all the Inn offers.The rooms are impeccably clean and the grounds and the buildings so well maintained. The restaurant offers a varied and delightful menu and the staff are consistently friendly, professional and helpful.The ocean view is outstanding both from the picture window and the deck, but there is also much to explore and enjoy in Gloucester, Rockport and the village of Annisquam.For a lobster treat, we recommend "Roy's" at Bearskin Neck or his restaurant , also in Rockport overlooking the harbor. "Topside" in Gloucester is another favorite place to dine. This year we took the 2 1/2 hour Lighthouse Tour from Gloucester Harbor and strongly recommend it.
We certainly look forward to returning to this gem of an Inn-perhaps next year we should extend our stay!.
Nancy and Arthur, Uxbridge, MA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was our first stay in this Inn and were continually amazed at how every little nook and cranny
was spotless. Everyone was extremely friendly and couldn't have been more helpful to ensure we had a nice visit in Gloucester. We were met upon check in with a warm chocolate chip cookie, and it got better from there. The towels were plentiful, beds were super comfortable and a large refrigerator was included. The pool was pristine. We stayed on the second floor and had an unobstructed view of the open ocean, which we enjoyed from the tables and chairs standard in every room. Other posting sited the cost as inflated, but I think it was certainly fair, especially since it was during the high tourist season. We have stayed in a few other motel/inns in Gloucester last year and frankly, we didn't expect much from this one based on our prior
experience. We were happily surprised and circumstance allowing, we will gladly return!
PS....the fish cakes in the breakfast cafe are delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have to admit that I was disappointed when we arrived at The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn to discover that it is essentially an aging motor lodge with a fresh coat of paint. Given the rates, I was not expecting all of the rooms opening onto the parking area on the backside and onto a shared balcony on the frontside. Entering the room added to my disappointment with a dated decor and furnishings (other than the new LCD television with satellite).

But, after my initial disappointment, I did recognize that the spacious room (and the motel in general) was spotlessly clean. The balcony allowed for an amazing view across the street of the Atlantic Ocean, with Bass Rocks in the foreground. You could even see the twin lighthouses of Thacher Island in the distance. The location made for a great base camp for exploring Gloucester, Rockport and other surrounding towns.

The motel also has a breakfast cafe (not included in the room rate) that offered a nice variety of tasty and filling options to start the day.

So, Atlantis Oceanfront Inn makes for a clean and convenient option with great views. However, I feel it is overpriced given the motor lodge design and dated furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
125atlantic, Manager at Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and happy to hear you are pleased with our tremendous efforts taken to maintain the Atlantis Oceanfront Inn. Our breakfasts are prepared by our premiere staff with our guests always in mind. We feel our location is unique and exceptional and take great pride in our rooms and amenities. We value your option and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here the week of July 4th. As other reviewers mentioned, the place is spotless. For once there was no fear of bringing home bedbugs from our travels. Gloucester is a lovely little village for a hoiday. But consider a few things before you plunk down your hard-earned Benjamins for this hotel:

First, the beds are just too soft. They offer no back support at all. (If you can sleep on a hammock, these beds will be perfect for you.) Both my daughter and I woke up with backaches every day of our stay. We thought about putting the mattresses on the floor for more support but my daughter voted that down as 'too tacky.'

Second, the swimming beach is not an easy walk from the hotel, as I was told when booking the room. The person who took my reservation said the beach was "just down the street." Well, it is down the street, true, but then up a steep hill, then down another looooong hill, and then another city block before you finally reach the entrance to the beach. Wait, you're not there yet. You have to walk over a 50 foot wooden bridge before you are finally on the sand. Then, if you want to be near the water, you must trudge along the sand for another 2 city blocks to reach the ocean. We were lugging beach chairs and bags of beach gear, plus towels, etc. It was a workout. On subsequent days we drove to the beach and paid the $15 parking fee (Would have been $25 to park without the discount ticket available from the hotel front desk.)

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was cigarette smoke. Smoking is allowed and fully indulged in at pool-side (but not in rooms). The pool is on the ocean side, so the constant breeze off the water pushes the cigarette smoke up to the oceanfront porch (and into the rooms if the door is open), which makes sitting outside unpleasant if not impossible.The oceanfront porch runs along the entire rear of the hotel, but the constant choking fumes took away the pleasure of sitting outside and enjoying the view and the refreshing sea air. Truly disappointing, especially because this is not a budget hotel...I paid almost $250/night including taxes. If anything could prevent me from returning, the smoking issue is it, unless they make the pool a no-smoking zone also.

My daughter tells me I am very picky. So if you think none of what I described above is that big a deal, then you will enjoy yourself here. Oh, the breakfast cafe is very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far away from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
125atlantic, Manager at Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do take great efforts to keep the Atlantis Oceanfront Inn clean and well maintained. Our beds are all new and we do understand everyone has a different preference to firmness, we are sorry you were uncomfortable. Good Harbor Beach is a ¾ mile walk. We inform our guests the walking distance and always offer our $10.00 off voucher for parking at the beaches. All of our rooms are non-smoking rooms. We have allowed smoking at the pool and feel it time for us to reevaluate this privilege as we do not want our guests to be uncomfortable in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Address: 125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn offers all the comforts of a large hotel with the freindly, attentive atmosphere of a small inn.We provide pristine accommadations that include oceanviews, air conditioning, refigerators, balconies or terrace sitting areas.Breakfast is offered daily in our oceanfront cafe'. Indulge in our creative and unique menu choices while enjoying the breathtaking view. Swim in our outdoor heated pool or stroll down to Good Harbor Beach just3/4 miles away. Located close to y restaurants, and many exciting activities make the Atlantis a perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Oceanfront Hotel Gloucester
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.