We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantis Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have to admit that I was disappointed when we arrived at The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn to discover that it is essentially an aging motor lodge with a fresh coat of paint. Given the rates, I was not expecting all of the rooms opening onto the parking area on the backside and onto a shared balcony on the frontside. Entering the room added to my disappointment with a dated decor and furnishings (other than the new LCD television with satellite).

But, after my initial disappointment, I did recognize that the spacious room (and the motel in general) was spotlessly clean. The balcony allowed for an amazing view across the street of the Atlantic Ocean, with Bass Rocks in the foreground. You could even see the twin lighthouses of Thacher Island in the distance. The location made for a great base camp for exploring Gloucester, Rockport and other surrounding towns.

The motel also has a breakfast cafe (not included in the room rate) that offered a nice variety of tasty and filling options to start the day.

So, Atlantis Oceanfront Inn makes for a clean and convenient option with great views. However, I feel it is overpriced given the motor lodge design and dated furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
125atlantic, Manager at Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and happy to hear you are pleased with our tremendous efforts taken to maintain the Atlantis Oceanfront Inn. Our breakfasts are prepared by our premiere staff with our guests always in mind. We feel our location is unique and exceptional and take great pride in our rooms and amenities. We value your option and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    46
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
76
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here the week of July 4th. As other reviewers mentioned, the place is spotless. For once there was no fear of bringing home bedbugs from our travels. Gloucester is a lovely little village for a hoiday. But consider a few things before you plunk down your hard-earned Benjamins for this hotel:

First, the beds are just too soft. They offer no back support at all. (If you can sleep on a hammock, these beds will be perfect for you.) Both my daughter and I woke up with backaches every day of our stay. We thought about putting the mattresses on the floor for more support but my daughter voted that down as 'too tacky.'

Second, the swimming beach is not an easy walk from the hotel, as I was told when booking the room. The person who took my reservation said the beach was "just down the street." Well, it is down the street, true, but then up a steep hill, then down another looooong hill, and then another city block before you finally reach the entrance to the beach. Wait, you're not there yet. You have to walk over a 50 foot wooden bridge before you are finally on the sand. Then, if you want to be near the water, you must trudge along the sand for another 2 city blocks to reach the ocean. We were lugging beach chairs and bags of beach gear, plus towels, etc. It was a workout. On subsequent days we drove to the beach and paid the $15 parking fee (Would have been $25 to park without the discount ticket available from the hotel front desk.)

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was cigarette smoke. Smoking is allowed and fully indulged in at pool-side (but not in rooms). The pool is on the ocean side, so the constant breeze off the water pushes the cigarette smoke up to the oceanfront porch (and into the rooms if the door is open), which makes sitting outside unpleasant if not impossible.The oceanfront porch runs along the entire rear of the hotel, but the constant choking fumes took away the pleasure of sitting outside and enjoying the view and the refreshing sea air. Truly disappointing, especially because this is not a budget hotel...I paid almost $250/night including taxes. If anything could prevent me from returning, the smoking issue is it, unless they make the pool a no-smoking zone also.

My daughter tells me I am very picky. So if you think none of what I described above is that big a deal, then you will enjoy yourself here. Oh, the breakfast cafe is very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far away from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
125atlantic, Manager at Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do take great efforts to keep the Atlantis Oceanfront Inn clean and well maintained. Our beds are all new and we do understand everyone has a different preference to firmness, we are sorry you were uncomfortable. Good Harbor Beach is a ¾ mile walk. We inform our guests the walking distance and always offer our $10.00 off voucher for parking at the beaches. All of our rooms are non-smoking rooms. We have allowed smoking at the pool and feel it time for us to reevaluate this privilege as we do not want our guests to be uncomfortable in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'm giving Atlantis Oceanfront Inn five stars because I think it's well-managed and excels at what it's trying to be. The property itself is motel-style with old-school style, but up-to-date where it needs to be and very clean. You can open the louvers on the door and the window on the ocean side and enjoy a pleasant cross breeze, which is a nice feature from the past. The view from the balcony on the top floor is fantastic. The room price is very reasonable. Breakfast is popular with the locals, as well as guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On our roadtrip to Boston we ended up in atlantis oceanfront it, and what a choice it was!
We had one of the latest rooms left with a great ocean view! A small balcony was available as well to enjoy the view even more. The room was simple, but had everything you need and was very clean. The staff was extremly friendly, they had fresh baken cookies waiting for you at check in and gave us great dining tips.
You can get breakfast in their restaurant, which has a one-big-family-feeling to it. Breakfast was very good, with good price.

Room Tip: All rooms have oceanview, but 2nd floor is a little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I usually stay at B&B's so this was a bit different for us. While there is no "common room", the Inn does have a lovely cafe that is open to the public for breakfast. We enjoyed both the meal, our waitress, and the glorious view from the dining room. Our room was clean, spacious and roomy. The only disappointing thing was that there were no "king" rooms available so we had two double beds. I don't even know anyone who owns a double anymore! The inn does have a heated pool, towels provided but I enjoyed just sitting on our balcony in the early mornings basking in the sun, listening to the waves crashing on the New England rocky shore. There are a few oceanfront places along this stretch which all look pretty nice. I'd go back again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view. Best rates are before the end of June...which is when we went :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

All rooms have direct view of amazing sunrises (if the fog stays away). The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The rooms are not very fancy and bathrooms are smallish--but they are impeccably clean, have a nice tv and refrigerator. From our second floor room we looked right out on to the ocean and could hear the waves. The people who work there are delightful. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Oceanfront Inn

Address: 125 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Oceanfront Inn offers all the comforts of a large hotel with the freindly, attentive atmosphere of a small inn.We provide pristine accommadations that include oceanviews, air conditioning, refigerators, balconies or terrace sitting areas.Breakfast is offered daily in our oceanfront cafe'. Indulge in our creative and unique menu choices while enjoying the breathtaking view. Swim in our outdoor heated pool or stroll down to Good Harbor Beach just3/4 miles away. Located close to y restaurants, and many exciting activities make the Atlantis a perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantis Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Oceanfront Hotel Gloucester
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.