We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Ann Brewing Company

Cape Ann Brewing Company
11 Rogers Street, Gloucester, MA 01930
978 282-7399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 127 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Happy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

RIght on the harbour, this venue is well constructed. The woodwork is gorgeous. The picnic tables make for a great community feel. The service is friendly. The snacks are simple, but delish. There are games and tvs in abundance.

But most of all, the beer is a huge win. Every taste of every genre won us over. Well done, Cape Ann Brewers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I have been here twice and have had similar experiences both times. We were seated right away and given menus by the hostess which was wonderful. What was not so wonderful is how long we had to wait until the waitress came to our table to put in our drink orders. It took even longer to get our drinks and finally our food. Once the food arrived, it was hot and delicious. I would stick with more of the pub fare, and not be as adventurous as my husband who ordered the gumbo (he said it was watery). If you stick with the basics, you will like your food. The atmosphere is perfect for a pub. We will most likely come back when we return to Gloucester.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We; my husband, daughter, her spouse and I had finished a full morning and early afternoon visiting Hammond Castle, And Bearskin Neck - had already eaten lunch (plus snacks :)) and I suggested going to the brewery for a little beverage tasting "refreshment". The disappointment started when upon entry the Hostesses were "less than" pleasant, and advised us that unless we were ordering food we could not sit at one of the picnic style tables - "and the bar was full, so if you want drinks you HAVE to order food" .... My reaction to that was a "hmpff"' so we - the thirsty, beer wanting crew, said "OK, we will order an appetizer" ... We found a spot in the brewery (un escorted to a table) and after a bit too long of a wait, another slightly less than happy waitress approached us to take our order. My husband ordered a Fisherman's Brew, our daughter in law ordered an iced tea and our daughter and I each ordered a Flight of 6 samples. The drinks came, my flight was splashed all over my husband, our calamari came and well to say we were under enthused is an under statement. The calamari was very greasy ( however in the breweries defense, we were not hungry so I don't think anything would have really tasted good) and the beer was just OK - the big noticeable thing was, it was not COLD!!! It wasn't warm, but it was not a nice cold draft!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty Pints and Yummy Squid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A really cool brew pub! The service was prompt, friendly, and Jenny knew her beers and menu. Our server led us to a couple of flavorful pints of IPA and a big plate of very tender and delectable calamari! We enjoyed our short stop on their deck under the sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to meet friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Whether stopping in for a beer or staying for dinner, a good time is ALWAYS had by all. Servers are all great, very attentive. Did I mention GREAT beer?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Ann Brewing Company also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Cape Ann Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Ann Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.