We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW>>What's above excellent?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Place

Charlie's Place
83 Bass Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-3143
978-281-5002
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW>>What's above excellent?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stopped at Charley' s Place totally by accident this past Sat and I must say it was probably the best casual dining meal I have ever had. My friend and I arrived shortly before lunch was available so our waitress (Dawn) suggested starting with a cup of chower. Could choose among Clam, Lobster and her suggestion was the Haddock Chower. OMG I wanted to get a barrell of this stuff to bring home. Warm but not blistering hot, the haddock pieces were large, tender and tasty. It was amazing how full a cup of chowder could make you feel. For lunch I ordered the Clam Roll and my friend got a fish sandwich. The clam roll must have had 25+ clams and you couldn't even see the roll under the pile of clams. The clams were large, tender and had just the right amount of breading. My friends sandiwch was a decent size and only $6 and I had a part of it which was very good. I would have like to and did seriously consider a piece of the amazing looking chocolate cake but we were too full and the piece of cake was too huge. Dawn was a blast as a waitress and provided great service and had a personality that is perfect for this place. Very somple looking place on the outside but don't hesitate to go here for a great meal. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Make this a destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Charlie's Place is a local gem hiding in plain sight. We ordered the Haddock Chowder only because our waitress recommended it. This was by far the smartest thing I did all day. The huge chunks of fish overwhelmed the cup and the broth was absolutely delicious! The soup was followed by the Gloucester Fish Sandwich and the Fried Clam Roll. Both were excellent. The sandwich came with two generous pieces of fresh fish and cheese. The other plate, fries and roll were buried by a huge pile of perfectly fried clams. The clams were outstanding! If you have been turned off by chewy, rubbery clams from other places, you need to try these. Tender and delicious, you won't be disappointed.

The service was very friendly and Dawn made us feel like regulars. Don't miss a great opportunity to enjoy the local fare.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Basic food done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Cod cheeks are a rare and welcome find, but the fried clams are the best thing here. My husband is a clam connoisseur, and he has eaten them up and down the Massachusetts coast. These are not only fat and flavorful, but they don't repeat on him -- no doubt revealing the quality fat used in frying. Also, when I'm in the mood for a tuna melt, this is the only place to go!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranston, ri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“friendly breakfast staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

hungry? eat at charlie's place! larger portions of delicious breakfast food. the girls are quick to deliver your coffee/drinks and love to chat. i haven't had the chance to eat lunch there but i'm sure it's wonderful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good Food - No Surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I ate there recently after having not visited it for a number of years. The restaurant has a new counter and furniture and a nice "airy" feeling to it. The location is not the best but the food and service is good and at reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Place also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.