We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See For History/Movie Buffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crow's Nest

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crow's Nest
334 Main St, Gloucester, MA 01930
(978) 281-2965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 128 restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Bar
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Must See For History/Movie Buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to the bar just to have a beer to see where the ill fated Andrea Gail crew used to hang out and it was neat. First of all, don't expect too much as they don't serve food. What you can expect is to see memorabilia and pictures related to both the fisherman and the Perfect Storm movie. It's basically just a cool bar where the locals hang out and they are very polite and talkative. I really enjoyed my experience here!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    5
    2
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great seaside bar, I will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were on vacation in Sept 2013, and took a side trip to Gloucester with the intention of finding the Crows Nest, we were all so happy that we did. The lady tending the bar was either the owner or the owners wife, and she was great. We all bought hats, and she make's the best Bloody Mary that I have ever had. We had a great time.

I highly recommend that you stop in here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love to visit, a place with real personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We love to visit here 1,2,3 times a year when up this way. A real down to earth, friendly bar. Listen to the jukebox, play keno, talk to locals, talk to visitors, shoot pool, watch the boats come in across the street. Friendly barmaids who make good drinks at super reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Perfect Storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yep, this is the bar that served as the inspiration for the hangout for the fishermen in the movie, The Perfect Storm. Dark and dingy inside but was bartended by friendly server who mixed right in with the tourists (we all bought T Shirts-she said that demand has never slacked since the movie came out) and suggested a lemon beer that was really good. We asked if someone would start a fight and she said she would do her best but alas. There are rooms to rent upstairs ($75) she said were clean and close to the bar. We asked about an hourly room rate but was told there was none. Oh well. A must nostalgic stop in Gloucester.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“NOT where they filmed "The Perfect Storm"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I didn't go into the bar, but it looked very small when I looked into the windows. Also, when I went whale watching the local there told us that it's not where they originally filmed The Perfect Storm. They re-created the bar near the water in Gloucester. We visited there though!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow's Nest also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Crow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crow's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.