We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Manor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Manor Inn to your Saves list
The Castle Manor Inn
141 Essex Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930 (Formerly The Manor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Newtown, connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is a find. We recommend the Daring Adventure room where we stayed. Great view, comfortable bed. The cozy bar was fun. The food was spectacular. We ordered their stuffed haddock dish and were not disappointed. Their breakfasts are also different and spectacular. I had their Bohemian breakfast which consisted of poached eggs on red cabbage with homemade sausage. Beautiful setting. They appear to cater to weddings and other affairs. Looks like they would be special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here after a 10 hour plane and 7 hour car journey. We were recieved in the evening and the management were exceptionally friendly and treated us very very well... much needed after all the travelling. We purchased a pizza en route and they even supplied us with plates etc to take to the room.

The room was great and the morning they helped us book a Whale watch.

The breakfast was spectacular. I would take the journey again just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We used a Groupon deal to spend two nights at this inn. When we first entered the main house, we were frankly surprised at how beautifully it had been renovated and maintained. Our third floor room was excellent, with three windows that looked out on the Annisquam River. We ate at the restaurant three times, and were impressed by the food. The mussel starter was a highlight. Cooked in a tomato/sausage broth, it was probably the best we've ever tasted. Staff was friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for a better stay and highly recommend the Castle Manor Inn.

Room Tip: There are two turrets, so any room in a turret will have plenty of rounded windows. Any room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishkill,ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the main Inn on the third floor where the servants lived "back in the day"! The rooms were spartan, but clean. Staff very helpful, food really delicious and the Groupon deal made it all very economical. Glad I didn't pay full price...........

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is a mini hike!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I made reservations five months in advance for a wedding and was told they would tell us which room we would be in later.They took our credit card info.Eight weeks later I call for a conformation and the owner snapped at me that she had thirty people in the dining room(10:30 am) and to call back.I was told I would be in the east wing motel type #7.When I checked in they didn't have me in the computer. Finally after about ten minutes the owner I was told I would be in the west wing #1. She told someone to tell her son to move out.We walked into a room heavily perfumed glad plug ins with a fan and dehumidifyer going.The room was very much in need of a overhaul.They must allow pets as the poo bucket and complimentarey poo bags were outside our door.My sister was in the room next to where we were supposed to be and her room was nice. I left very early and we both said we'd prefer to shower at home.When we got home there was a message on our phone from two days ago asking us to confirm or did we want to cancel as we were somewhere north the day before we didn't get the call.That afternoon I got a call saying I didn't check out and didn't pay.Normally check in is they either have your card or they get it before you are given a key.They acted like it was my fault.That will be my last time there.

Room Tip: It seems ther are some very nice places to stay close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here with a Groupon coupon for 2 nights as a girl’s getaway. We stayed in the 2 room family suite in the main Inn. The rooms were nicely remodeled and clean. The manor itself has been beautifully restored. There is a nice outdoor dining area. We had dinner and breakfast and the meals were delicious! The owners couldn't have been nicer and the staff was helpful with anything we needed. I would love to come back and stay for a longer visit. The only minor recommendations I could suggest -it would be nice to have a blow dryer and iron in the room.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was most pleased with a recent stay. Mansion has been lovingly restored & is tastefully furnished ...Very clean.......... some beautiful views from various rooms. My favorite spot was the wrap around porch on which to enjoy tea, drinks or breakfast. There were gorgeous flowers @ many spots on the main floor & porch.....adds to the elegant feel.....The meals @ the inn are reasonably priced,especially given the quality of the food & presentation. At one breakfast, however, my bacon was very overcooked......given the overall excellence, the chef should not have sent this out! Every person I met on staff was appropriately friendly & quite attentive. If you yearn for a quiet, relaxed vacation in a beautiful area like Cape Ann enjoying a homey but rather grand setting.....Castle Manor Inn will not disappoint but rather captivate & envelop you into the lovely, quieting & serene location & ambiance.

Room Tip: Be sure to look @ the pictures, decide about view choice, & of 2nd or 3rd floor/no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Manor Inn

Address: 141 Essex Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930 (Formerly The Manor Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Manor Inn is a lovingly restored 1900 Victorian Inn, just a short distance to the Atlantic seashore and beaches and offering a relaxing view of the salt marsh and river.The inn has ten beautifully appointed rooms and suites in the main house and sixteen motor lodge units. Guests can enjoy our full service fireplaced dining room for breakfast and dinner or dine alfresco on our romantic veranda in the summer. Our deck overlooking the river is the perfect spot for weddings and functions accomodating up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel Gloucester
The Manor Inn Gloucester
The Castle Manor Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.