We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vacation Home/Spectacular Ocean Views and Sunsets

Saved Save
You added Vacation Home/Spectacular Ocean Views and Sunsets to your Saves list.
Views of Annisquam River, Ipswich Bay and on a clear day to Newburyport and Plum Island
Views of Annisquam River, Ipswich Bay and on a clear day to Newburyport and Plum Island
Views of Annisquam River, Ipswich Bay and on a clear day to Newburyport and Plum Island
Spectacular Ocean View with Amazing Sunsets
Front of house near parking
Part of house that is 50 feet from the water
Front showing glassed in balcony
Gloucester
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JJ_Boston...
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definitely coming back...peaceful, more beautiful than the pictures, and remarkably well-equipped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were two families (four adults, 3 children and a toddler), and everyone had a wonderful time. Wingarsheek and Crane Beaches are reasonably convenient, as are some great playgrounds, gourmet ice cream shops, farmstands (fresh corn, tomatoes, pies, peaches...), art galleries, and independent bookstores. The neighbors were both quiet and friendly.

The house is spotlessly clean, fresh, and in terrific condition...from bathrooms, bed linens, and beach towels, to the kitchen and the still-wrapped kitchen sponge. The large washer dryer and house vac helped us keep everything that way during the week. We cooked or grilled most of the time; the kitchen is very well-equipped for both bakers and chefs (e.g., muffin tins, Bundt pan, Corning ware, an assortment of knives and lots of mixing bowls and measuring cups). Next time we will check in with Tom about the status of kitchen staples (olive oil, aluminum foil, balsamic vinegar, plastic ware, paper napkins), because we brought a lot of things we did not need. We avoided being outside after sunset or very early in the morning and had no problems at all with mosquitos.

Tom was helpful, informative, and prompt in his replies. His description is not hyperbole. We all want to come back again next year!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Watching the sunsets...watching the tides come in and out...sitting on the dock looking for turtles and fish
Liked least: Well-kept yard and flower beds not suitable for young kids who need to run around a lot outside.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2012
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We look forward to have you and your family back during the 2013 season. It is always good to have guests who enjoy themselves and share the home that we love so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kcmck1
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
“The home is beautifully appointed with exquisite views of Ipswich Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We were eight women celebrating over 50 years of friendship with a long weekend getaway. We were delighted with The Landry Cottage. The spacious house is brightly and tastefully decorated, every amenity is provided, the waterviews are incomparable, and the sunsets truly spectacular. The owners were accomodating and very helpful. We enjoyed every minute and were reluctant to pack up and leave this beautiful place.
Cape Ann has something to offer everyone: museums, artists' studios, charming villages, waterfront restaurants, shopping and browsing, antique shops, many area beaches and more. Or.....just stay "at home" in such pleasant surroundings.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2012
We were so glad to see that the eight ladies celebrating their birthday had a great time. We enjoyed having you as guests and thank you for your wonderful review. We hope that you would consider coming back to celebrate again. It is heartwarming to see friendships kept over 50 years and we were glad to have been a small part in making the celebration a memorable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Boston
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010 for a stay in November 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2010
Glad that our friends from the U.K. had a great time. It is great to have friends from a distance enjoy our home as we do. We hope that you might visit us again sometime or tell your friends about your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Greenville SC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010 for a stay in July 2010
Liked best: The gorgeous seaside setting
Liked least: Mosquitos if you go out after dark
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2010
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We hope that we will se you all again. Best of luck to your family in the year ahead..I know just what you speak about having snorkeled a bit there myself.
Tom Barner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
North Reading
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010 for a stay in July 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2010
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your vacation and that all of the kids and grandchildren had a wonderful time. It is a magical place where the stress of everyday life just melts away when one looks at the ocean views. We hope that you will return many times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Co Kildare Ireland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010 for a stay in August 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2010
It was nice to see you again and share our ocean views with you. I enjoyed seeing your photographs of the sunsets and wildlife during the day. I hope you get a chance to return many times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susan Rapuano
VA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010 for a stay in September 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2010
Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm glad that you and your husband had a pleasant visit and that you might visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Tom Barner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$450
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Tom Barner
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a week
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing