We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaport Grille

Seaport Grille
6 Rowe Sq, Gloucester, MA 01930-3057
978-282-9799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 127 restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

we stumbled on this by chance and we were glad we did. sea views with really good (huge) portioned food.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    94
    67
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“$9.99 Lobster rolls on Thursday nights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I frequently go to the Seaport Grille on Thursday nights because they have a $9.99 lobster roll special. Although the lobster rolls are bigger in the winter time then the summer time they are still the best bang for the buck. Another great menu item is the lobster BLT, it's a little pricey ($22.95) but very good. On top of that they have a lot of good meals on the menu but most of the time I get lobster. The drinks are good, usually made strong which i like.

During the summer time the place is packed so service can be slow. However most of the staff are friendly and the bartenders are pleasant as well. I've never make reservations and have found If your going to sit inside the waits aren't that bad but it can take some time if you're trying to sit out on the deck. I wait until after 8PM and don't usually have a problem getting a seat. It's very loud when the restaurant is full but a fun atmosphere.

If you you're looking for some good seafood with a fun atmosphere check out the Seaport the next time you're in town!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Went here for lunch today on the recommendation of a staffer at the Beauport Mansion/Museum. One of us had the haddock taco and the other had a salad w/ seared tuna. Both were excellent, though the "taco" was really a misnomer -- really just a huge plate of fried haddock pieces with a sort of spicy coleslaw-type relish, and a flour tortilla buried underneath it all. Service was very prompt. It does look out on the harbor, but it's really a view of working fishing boats, warehouses, trucks, etc. -- not especially picturesque. We walked in without a reservation so we don't know if they take them or not.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you only eat at one restaurant, make this the one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I took my family to Seaport after hearing about the lobster roll special they have on Thursday nights. We were a group of nine with an age range from an infant up to my parents who are in their 80's. The staff was incredibly helpful and bent over backwards to arrange a table that would fit all of us. The lobster roll was impressive, almost too big to eat like a sandwich, and the Thursday night special price of $9.99 was unbelievable! All the other food we ordered was great including what seemed like a mountain of fried clams on the clam platter. Our server was very friendly and even gave us a beer on the house because we had to wait while they changed the keg. Overall it was an excellent experience. If you want great seafood, generous portions and reasonable prices this is the place to go! A word of caution about “market price”. Always ask what it is. Because of seasonal shortages some prices may be prohibitively high!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super slow service, VERY LOUD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We waited 20 minutes for a 7:30 reservation made 5 days in advance. We were given a seat but moved once we expressed our disappointment in the table. It took 2 hours and 45 minutes to have drinks, apps and dinner for 6. The food was good, service was friendly but unbearably slow. Do not hurry to this spot. Unfortunately they cannot handle summer crowds or honor reservatios.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaport Grille also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Seaport Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaport Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.