We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice brewery with good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub

Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub
11 Rogers St, Gloucester, MA 01930
978-281-4782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Gloucester
Type: Breweries, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape Ann Brewing Company is an award-winning, family-owned, micro-brewery and the home of Fisherman's Brew. It’s Brewpub features the brewery’s award-winning craft beers brewed on-site, with a bar shaped like the port side of a ship. Long, German-style wooden tables and a sitting area with several rocking chairs create a mellow, laid-back atmosphere unlike anything else in the Cape Ann community. Classic board games are available for leisurely enjoyment. Local artist renderings adorn the wood-paneled walls and the large picture windows look out onto St. Peter’s Square where the famed St. Peter’s Fiesta is held each June.
Sparks, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice brewery with good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a nice place to have lunch and their beers are really good! I was only able to have two and try a third, but they were all wonderful. That imperial pumpkin stout is great. Wish I had a growler of that!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty Solid Beers And Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Cape Ann Brewing is located right in the center of the coastal city of Gloucester and has both a restaurant and bar all in one. The seating is both inside and outside and they brew all kinds of different beers of various styles and offer some pretty decent food as well.

Parking was easy to find as they are adjacent to a giant, public lot but there's also numerous street parking spots in the area as well. We didn't struggle to find any on a sunny, Saturday afternoon. Upon walking in we found the place to be bustling with activity both inside and out. We decided to go for outdoor seating as their patio overlooks the Atlantic ocean and there was a live band playing outside. While very loud (a little too loud), it was still pretty awesome to have live music there.

We decided to order 2 flights of their beers. There's six samples in each flight and they had 12 beers on the menu so we were able to cover them all in two flights which was great.

Not all of their beers are great but a few do standout including their Ironclad IPA which features a mix of summit, cascade and chinook hops giving it a great, West coast-style, grapefruit aroma. Others weren't so great but most we pretty good and very fresh and cold - hard to beat really!

The food we had was pretty basic but good - being allergic to seafood and fish we settled on sharing some buffalo chicken tenders which tasted good. A lot of people around us did seem to enjoy their seafood though and they do offer quite a bit of it. You can order up some fried calamari ($11), or P.E.I. mussels ($10). There's also clam chowder, fish tacos ($12), burgers ($9) and various other dishes like stuffed pork loin ($17) and chicken piccata ($16).

The service was great, and the place was clean, including the bathroom. It was a good experience there, but it did leave me wanting for a tad more in terms of their menu. They have great, fresh cold beer, but I was hoping they'd have a better selection of shareable appetizers.

Oh and I also want to know why the hell they'd be serving a pumpkin stout in their samplers in the middle of summer? That's an October/November beer not a summer one. I found that a bit odd...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst dinner out in a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Service and food were terrible! Read great reviews on this place and was highly disappointed. We ordered the nachos, these were were the most disgusting nachos I have ever tasted, hardly any cheese and tasted freezer burnt. We sent them back, the waitress never said sorry. Our entrees were ok. I got the pulled pork, hubby got the fish and chips. When our bill came, the nachos were still on it. We never heard from a manager or our server with an apology. Again, very disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeannbrewing, Owner at Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal at The Pub. I do want to clarify that there is nothing on our nachos that is ever frozen. Our chips and salsa are made in house and none of the optional additions such as chicken, steak or pulled pork ever gets frozen either before or after it gets to us. It is encouraging to see that you didn't seem to have any issues with your entrees so hopefully the meal wasn't a complete loss as you indicate in your title and rating. In the future, please make a point to insist on seeing a manager if you are unhappy. Sometimes the wait staff gets tied up or just fails to let management know that there was a problem and then it would be obviously impossible for a manager to respond properly, as I can assure you we would have. On a lighter note, if an bad order of Nachos is enough to make this entire meal the worst meal you've had in a long time, you've had a great stretch of meals and I definitely apologize for being the cause of this stretch to end. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Needed a quick drink and this place is perfect. Micro brewery and their staff is knowledgeable on its history. Everything is brewed on site and they do free tours..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food, better beer, awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stumbled upon this place while walking around Gloucester and had planned to go in for one beer and move on. However when we sat down, in what we thought was a really fun beer hall we couldn't bring ourselves to leave until we had tried several of the excellent microbrews. They have a beer sampler set which gives you the chance to try 6 different lagers / ales from the menu, and this is highly recommended! Try the double IPA with hints of citrus - its 9% ABV but REALLY REALLY good. They also have a pumpkin stout at 7% which is awesome, and one at 11% which has liquor like qualities - still very good, but don't order it if you're gonna be driving after! We shared chicken wings and poutine (fries with gravy and cheese curds) and the food was really really good. Great service as well, and they had a quiz night which meant that we were entertained and challenged, whilst enjoying some of the best beers I've ever had! If you're in Gloucester this is a must try!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeannbrewing, Owner at Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Glad you guys brought your "Sexy Minds" in for trivia night and had a good time(I'm not being creepy folks, that was their team name...sheesh). Glad we'll be one of the good things you can talk about when you get home to Denmark. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Ann Brewing Company & Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.