We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened here???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Save
You added Cape Ann Motor Inn to your Saves list
33 Rockport Rd., Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Gloucester B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“What happened here???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

OMG!!! this motel has gone down the drain!!! We have vacationed here for years, its sooo sad. The great view is the ONLY positive thing to mention. HUGE room charges, pleather 1970's vintage furniture, sliding doors that don't slide, rotten wood, pealing paint and the "Continental breakfast" 3 day old donuts. Oh ya can't forget to mention the wicked mean resevation lady, omg!!!! But hey their full every summer night so why should managment change, laughing all the way to the bank. Truck stop motel in one of the most beautiful places on earth. It should be illegal.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    51
    21
    7
    27
See reviews for
44
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2005

We have taken family vacations here since I was 10 yrs old...(30 yrs or so) looks like the place has the same couch's and appliances(in the regular rooms). Now taking my children here we always stay in the honeymoon suite. The view awesome but for $300.00 night (family of 5 in season with tax) its the biggest ripoff on the North shore. Two years in a row management has needed to paint our balcony during our stay. (ladders and dropcloths detract from the view some) We realize maintance needs to be done.....really needs to be done here...but on an inseason holiday weekend...twice......Local youths drinking in the parking lot after the office closes...nailheads and rotten boards on the deck....ouch!! Screen doors that never close....I mean never....front desk folks that really seem to feel their guests are lucky they allowed us to stay here......and to top it off this year summer 2004(our last summer) a boarded up oceanfront window (better than wide open but the glass ones were kinda nice)......The view is soooo beautiful....crying shame!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2004

Absolutely great view and right on the ocean but the place itself could use a major renovation. Can't imagine staying there in the summer as there is no air conditioning. Recently stayed there in September and had to keep the screen door open all night to get a breeze. Screen door was broken and screen itself was ripped. Sitting on the balcony wasn't too great at night as the mosquitoes were swarming. As for the breakfast, what a joke!! Coffee didn't even have real cream or milk out, just powdered stuff and the donuts were hard as rocks. What really got me was the bathroom. The curtain on the window looked like it had ben put on after sitting in dryer as it was all crumpled. I've stayed in alot of places and am not very picky but for the price, thought this was a dump and a rip off. Went back to Cape Ann a couple of weeks later and stayed at a much nicer place for LESS money!!! You would be better off staying somewhere else and going to a public beach. Great view though!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2003

My family has traveled to Cape Ann Motor Inn for well over 25+ years now and although I have loved the experience from childhood to parenthood, Cape Ann has risen to very high prices for the quality of th accomadations. Granted, you have the beach and the view- Don't get my wrong- Its beautiful. My problem lies with the very out dated, uncomfortable furniture (the couch is unbearable pleather like material), there is no air conditioning and the screen doors seldom work. I just think for the 130+ rates during peak seasons, that they could afford to upgrade the rooms a bit and have much happier customers. My family has traveled there for years for the cost effective vacation, not too far from home but things have changed and not for the better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2003

We stayed last May for our wedding night and loved it. Huge picture-window views of the ocean gave us an incredible panoramic sunrise. Very reasonable price for a place that has its own long beach. Tranquil and uplifting, unpretentious and warm! There is even a friendly parrot caged in the lobby who laughed whenever other people did, and made us wonder where it was coming from! Highly recommended escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2002

We travel every October to Cape Ann. We always stay at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. Our experience is always the same. Because they can't get much better. There is a warm fire in the fireplace in the lobby. There are donuts and coffee every morning and always good conversation. The ocean front rooms are clean and the kitchenette rooms are always money savers. The beach is clean and relaxing. We are always treated like royalty by management and staff. I recommend a stay here to everyone. Love the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Address: 33 Rockport Rd., Gloucester, MA 01930
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester
Cape Ann Motor Inn Gloucester, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Ann Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.