We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Total Makeover!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Save
You added Blue Shutters Beachside Inn to your Saves list
1 Nautilus Ave., Gloucester, MA 01930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Gloucester B&B and Inns
boston, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Total Makeover!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The location can't be beaten at this place, so with trepidation we made reservations. I even packed our own sheets and pillows just in case the ones provided were scary -- we'd checked out the inside of this place over the last few years and it was a bit swilly, but I was willing to be flexible for a hotel right on Good Harbor Beach.
We checked in and found new owners, and basically a complete makeover!
Our room had a gorgeous view of the ocean, a kitchen and trundle bed for the kids. Our room was cleaned each day with fresh linens -- so our own sheets never even came out of the car. We went to the beach, took a break from the sun on the inn's large, rolling, lawn and then return to the beach for the rest of the day. We ate our dinner in front of the inn's outdoor fireplace -- after putting the kids to sleep!
The four owners (2 husband and wife teams) were warm, hospitable, and were very welcoming to our kids -- not something you'll always find at an inn. We even made reservations for the end of the summer, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — great hospitality at an amazing location
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
29
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Natick, MA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

My wife and two sons (ages 6 and 9) were pleasantly surprised that Blue Shutters Inn happens to be on our favorite beach in all of Massachusetts, Good Harbor Beach in Gloucester. That was enough of an incentive for us to give it a try for a weekend.

The Blue Shutter Inn's priceless location combined with great service and truly affordable prices make it the best-kept secret in Gloucester.

The common area of the spacious inn enjoys a picture-perfect view of the beach, which is literally a stone's throw away. An unpopulated island off of the beach becomes accessible at low tide, making for a great wading and hiking adventure for kids and adults (Just make sure you get back ashore before high tide rolls around!).

The Blue Shutters Inn itself is immaculate -- very clean and bright, with a variety of unique rooms, some with kitchens and bathrooms, along with some more basic options. Under new management in 2007, the building has been painted inside and out and is roomy, spacious and comfortable.

The folks who run the place couldn't have been nicer and were especially good with our kids.

We will definitely be coming back. Thanks Blue Shutters!

  • Liked — Location, location, location - Good Harbor Beach truly is one of the best in New England
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed at the Blue Shutters Years ago and was not impressed. However since the new owners have taken over, the place has a totally new look and feel. It is warm and welcoming, clean and spacious. The management staff was very helpful in recommending local places to visit and places to eat. I will make the Blue Shutters Beachside an annual vacation spot.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield County, CT
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

Not having been born in Gloucester I cannot claim 'native status' but having been a 4 season visitor for the past 30+ years I can speak with some authority as to the state of things on Good Harbour Beach. The Blue Shutters Inn, at One Nautilus Road, has been a favorite destination for many years, returning this year has found the place to be undergoing some exciting changes. New owners have been busy this past winter and have completed a total renovation of the entrance/lobby/staircase/dining area and the result is a modern,warm,inviting, and comfortable space. As one of the first Memorial Day Weekend Guests to arrive we were given a tour of the whole property and were impressed with the renovations of the guest rooms. One of the great things about this place is variety in room choices from a simple bedroom to a suite with a kitchen(always our choice), and the new owners are keeping the layout as is. The main reason we have always loved The Blue Shutters is it's casual atmosphere and perfect location and the place is still laid back in all of the best ways it used to be and the view/location are unparralleled. The new owners are friendly and happy to steer you toward a good meal if you are unfamiliar with the area. They are doing a breakfast and always have coffee going.All the rooms have wireless internet for those of us who cannot live without it. The place is as conducive to a quick weekend trip as it is a weeklong+ stay. We will be back at least two more times this year and look forward to seeing the evolution of this great place continue, knowing that it's greatest attribute, LOCATION, LOCATION,LOCATION.., make it the obvious choice. Check it out!~M.Rossetti&J.Farrell 05/27/2007

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

If you are looking for a traditional hotel or motel that gives you room service, a great pool or a feeling of being just another person paying but not getting, then The Blue Shutters Inn in Gloucester, MA is not for you. But, if you are looking for a pleasant, quaint Inn that has all of the charm and ambiance of a real New England Inn, then your journey for a real gem has ended. My wife and I run around all week and most of the year, but here we can just walk across the country road to Good Harbor Beach and walk hand in hand along the shoreline. The accomodations are excellent as are Mary and Joe, the owners. Their dedication to your needs are first rate. I feel safe and protected as I felt when was staying in my aunt's home when I was young.

  • Liked — Beach Access
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

First off, the Blue Shudders should not be considered a real place to stay. There is junk throughout the yard and the furniture is all second hand, old, garage/consignment shop stuff. Some may call it homey, but it's actually inappropriate to call this lodging, especially for $150 a night. What we found were much of what the negative reviews say here---rusting fixtures, peeling up linoleum, peeling paint, mildew, stoves and refridgerators from 20 or 30 years ago. The bedding and furniture was very old and run down and there was concern about letting the kids actually let their skin touch it. We slept in our sleeping bags instead. A smoke detector was missing. A particular gripe: once you checked in and gave your money, which was quickly sought upon arrival, the owners "disappeared", which, we figured out, would prevent anyone from asking for it back once they saw the rooms. One family who lost their key had no means to contact them--since they don't stay on the property and there is no emergency contact information present. We stayed here as there was no other place to stay, gambled and hoped the mixed reviews would pan out, but they didn't. Stay out on the Ocean at the major chains, which I heard from the locals cost less and are modern. We have never seen a place as bad as this.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainTonyMass, Owner at Blue Shutters Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2007
The Blue Shutters came under new management in February 2007, and the four new owners -- my wife and I and another couple -- have spent the past five months updating and improving on the inn, with the help of many family and friends. As frequent travelers ourselves, we have come to look to Trip Advisor for guidance. So you can imagine our concern when we saw the negative reviews from past years -- and we were even more concerned when friends and prospective guests mentioned these reviews to us. It's important to note that there have been many positive changes -- and the most recent Trip Advisor reviews are evidence of this. We've been thrilled with the response from guests these past few months -- and we hope that others considering the new Blue Shutters Beachside Inn put reviews like this, and other past comments, in the proper perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

The Blue Shutters' greatest asset is that is across the street from a beautiful beach, Good Harbor. Literally across the street, so all you have to do is carry your beach chair and bag down the street to the bridge. If your room fronts on the beach, you can see the sunrise, and hear the ocean's rise and fall.

Unfortunately, the property has been allowed to deterioriate. The sheets and bedding are old, pilly and thin. Mattresses are from another century, backaches guaranteed. Rooms have ancient shag carpeting that haven't seen a carpet cleaner in a decade. The shower in our room had glass shower doors installed on a bathtub, with the inner channel that should hold the door in place missing. A mutiliated foot waiting to happen. Our toilet backed up three times in a week. The toiletries are all branded Foxwoods Casinos, interesting. Both the common area and the rooms are crammed with the owner's collectables making it difficult to move around and relax. They seem to have stopped providing continental breakfast, not that it was more than generic cereal, white bread, peanut butter, jelly, and juice, but that was a great savings for families, and it was discontinued without notice.

If you're looking to be close to the beach at a price comparable to BS, I'd recommend the Vista, which overlooks the beach. Someone will have to drive everyone to the beach and drop them off, and pick them up at the end of the day to avoid the $20 beach parking fee, but it will be worth it for cleanliness and quiet.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Shutters Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

Address: 1 Nautilus Ave., Gloucester, MA 01930
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Good Harbor Beach (#1 Beach in New England 2012). Minutes to downtown Gloucester (America's Oldest Fishing Port) and Rockport. Close to Cape Ann's 20+ restaurants and dozens of shops and galleries, as well as the Rocky Neck Art Colony (America's oldest and continuous operating art colony). Just 55 minutes by car or commuter rail to Boston and less than 2 hours drive from other New England destinations. We're one of the most popular spots on "the island you can drive to" (our section of Gloucester is separated from the Massachusetts mainland by the Annisquam River). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Beachside Hotel Gloucester
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Shutters Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.