We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardner Ale House

Gardner Ale House
74 Parker St, Gardner, MA 01440-3809
978-669-0122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Gardner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Newton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wow. Delicious, delicious, delicious. One of the best restaurant lunches I have ever had. Friendly waitstaff, too. Really, this is the place to eat in Gardner. Even if you're going past Gardner on Route 2, stop in for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place for Leisurely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent three hours talking with a friend I haven't seen in several months and the staff was friendly, attentive, and never pressured us to leave or purchase additional food or beverages. We always meet in this restaurant because the food is very good, reasonably priced, and the atmosphere is lovely. Local artists display their paintings/photography so there is always something new to look at. The restaurant is unusual in that they actually brew their own beer and the brewery machine is right near the bar. I'm not a drinker but there are always many guys standing around admiring the equipment. I can't speak for dinner but the lunch menu is extensive and varied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My thoughts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Gardner Ale house is a great spot for food in Massachusetts..Quaint, personable..but do NOT go there late Friday or Saturday unless you like overpriced nibbles..their word..nibbles..ugh..Food is fair to good..Steak was gray and tasteless..Something about " it is baked then kept in warm bath and TOSSED on the grill.." Cooked to PERFECTION" umm..No..dry..bland..very bad..great pizza..nice coffee drinks..Most of the wait staff are friendly AND personable..do not get the tall healthy looking dark haired girl..very attitude-y..makes a VERY big deal about the " pure" water and if you are not drinking..will leave you sitting there..yeah..boo..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

On a business trip we stopped in to have dinner and it happened to be Italian night. The food was great and the service pretty good. The place could have been a bit cleaner but they were very busy. I think it's worth a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had my first experience at the Gardner Ale House. The atmosphere was what you would expect. Our waitress greeted us with a stare and no actual greeting of any sort. She took our order along with the order of the couple sitting next to us. I had ordered a coup of soup to start, i did not receive it. We later learned that it was given to the couple sitting next to us. The waitress insinuated that it was the couples fault by stating "they didn't say anything when when i brought it to them" she nicely took it off the bill. I had ordered haddock and it was very fresh and I was happy with it. My fiance ordered a hamburger well done. It came back rare and very greasy. The fries were also soggy. The waitress saw that he did not eat it and offered to take it off the bill. Hopefully, this was just a one-off experience and it is not like this all of the time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardner Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Gardner Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardner Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.