We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place used to be awesome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rome

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rome
4 E Central St, Franklin, MA 02038
(508) 528-4740
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 66 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This place used to be awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The food, while in years past, has been awesome, is now pretty average, or in some cases disappointing. At times within the last few years, I've been served left overs, and it was absolutely bland. It's obvious that after the original owner died, that his sons changed the recipe (if it's not out of a can) for the marinara sauce for the side of pasta that comes with most meals. It's bland. I gave it three stars because the last time I ate there, the food was good. I hope the new owners are listening because several people I know say the same thing. It just is not the same...and they go up in price just about every few months. Not like it used to be. Disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

An old, established Italian restaurant that has been there forever. Having left Massachusetts 20 years ago, I was pleased to see the place was still there. The place has Been updated and well maintained. And, the food is still as wonderful as it was years ago.

I had the veal and eggplant parmesan which was outstanding. Both my wife and son had terrific dishes as well.

Would highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Rome is in downtown Franklin near the train crossing. The atmosphere is unmistakably right out of central Italy. The food leaves nothing to be desired. If, like me, you are from Italian heritage, you will appreciate the aroma, the service and most of all, the food. Abundanza!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for many years and love it every time, gluten free pasta and pizza!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts, Usa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dinner on New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had stopped at a few chain restaurants but they were so crowded before we came here and was surprised it was not packed. It was around 7:30pm and we walked right in. Our waitress,Donna, was very pleasant and made a few suggestions before I settled on the special that night, haddock stuffed with scollops and lobster. It was excellent and it came with a side of pasta and my husband had the chicken parm and we both came home with a doggie bag. We had coffee and a dessert, which we shared, the red velvet cheese cake,which was not very good, but the coffe was. The price was very resonable too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rome also viewed

 

Been to The Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.