We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rediscovered Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Steak House

Ken's Steak House
95 Worcester Rd, Framingham, MA 01701-5348
15088754455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ken's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 191 Restaurants in Framingham
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 9
Description: With Age comes great things..Ken's steak house has been serving Metro-West since 1935. Ken and Florence Hanna had a sound formula for success: Good quality food at reasonable prices, an honest drink and a good cup of coffee. Guests always receive prompt, courteous, attentive service. The prime and choice cuts of beef and the fresh seafood found at Ken's has set a standard of quality that is unparalleled.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Rediscovered Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I remember eating here years ago when it was overcrowded and noisy; I was persuaded to try again and had a terrific meal in a warm and soothing atmosphere, beautifully prepared food with attentive staff. I'll be back for sure!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A sorry has been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Kens was one of the original steak houses, but over the years they failed to keep up with the changes in restaurants, so now the food tastes like something from a school cafeteria, and service is about the same. They should stick to their line of salad dressings and forget about the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Walpole
Level Contributor
251 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Local Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ken's has always had a great reputation for their steaks. It is well deserved. The prime rib and tournedos of beef were both excellent. They were cooked to perfection.

The ambience is a bit unusual, white tablecloths and baseball caps. If you are looking for a special dinner with all the trimmings you can get that here. But don't be surprised by the informality of the room. It looks like they have multiple dining areas and I am going to assume they are all alike, meaning this is really a local neighborhood restaurant with downtown Boston prices. It is very informal.

Service was also slow. I'm not sure of the cause because the restaurant had no waiting time on a Saturday early evening and was not at capacity. Our server was very good, but everything took longer than expected from drinks to dessert to the check.

We were using a Groupon and she, our waitress, made no big deal about it and acted like they had a lot of them.

Don't go if you are in any kind of hurry or if you want a special treat. This is a local restaurant with great food and downtown prices. The other good news is you don't pay for parking. It is still an easy $100 meal for two, thoiugh

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good meal :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went on Monday night for our 2yr anniversary. I had a groupon and thought I would try Ken's, hadn't been there in years. Service was excellent, food was not. I got the Filet on a plank medium rare, but it was really dry? How does that happen to a medium rare meat? My husband got the Delmonico which was awful, fatty and a terrible piece of meat, something you would serve as steak and eggs in the morning, not for dinner. We were also disappointed in the calamari, no real taste, very blah. We will not be back, sorry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still running strong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I haven't been here in years. The restaurant itself has been in Framingham for years. It was the place to go years ago and was always packed. Now with so many other places to eat it has lost
The large crowds. But in my opinion it still is one of the better steak restaurants in the country.
I went there with my family a short while ago, not having been there for many years and was satisfied beyond my expectations. In recent years Kens has become a nationwide distributor of its
Salad dressing( creamy French,Italian,Cesar,Russian, poppy seed etc)and has been very successful in doing so, if you would like to sample their dressing go to your local grocery store.However the salad dressing at the restaurant, not being bottled but freshly made is fantastic.
Besides filet on a plank( delicious), they also have scrod etc which is always well prepared. The soups and onion rings( if you can treat yourself to that)are great. And there assortment of pies like
Blueberry, apple, pecan are scrumptious.the atmosphere isn't that great but definitely worth going to for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThinkingTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing