We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Orient Restaurant

Chef Orient Restaurant
1583 Worcester Rd, Framingham, MA 01701-5403
508-628-9227
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 183 Restaurants in Framingham
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High quality food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've been eating at Chef Orient for more than 8 years now. The restaurant is divided into two sections, Japanese Hibachi on one side and a traditional Chinese food on the other. The Hibachi side is always packed for some reason. However, the Chinese side gets much fewer customers, even though the quality of the food is substantial. The seafood is always fresh and tasty. The 5 flavors shrimp is out of sight, and even the normal shrimp friend rice just tastes better than most other places. We often go there with a large group so the fact that the Chinese side is underrated is a blessing to us because we can always get a table with no wait time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The "New Chef Orient" Restaurant (Since Aug 2012)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Okay... since the new ownership took over in August we've tried them a couple of times... once for Chinese and once for sushi. Not impressed at all. The Chinese food was similar to the original Chef Orient, but the fried rice wasn't as good and neither were the spring rolls. Found everything to be a little too greasy. Not what I expected, especially considering the prices were considerably higher. Time for us to try some of the other places in the area to get our fix of Chinese, I guess.

We've always ordered sushi from them for New Year's Eve, and tonight was no different. Dropped off our typed up order around 1 p.m. for a 6 p.m. pickup. The first disappointment was being told they don't do the gyoza appetizer at 6.... they'd do it for me at 1, but not later. It's just a fried dumpling! What's the problem at 6?? Sushi order was ready for pickup at the appointed time. Got it home and found they had given me an order of maguro (tuna) which I didn't order. Thought that maybe, just MAYBE it was a complimentary thing since they wouldn't do the gyoza. Nope. The charge for $5.50 was right there on the receipt. Overall, the fish was very fresh and tasty, but the maki rolls didn't hold together very well. Quite conservative with the roe on the rolls, too. A little disappointing, since we've always enjoyed sushi from Samba, their parent, just down Route 9.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Service was a little slow to start off and I thought it was slightly overpriced. But the chef did a great job cooking in front of you and was fun to watch! Food was good, drinks were not lacking with alcohol, Scallops were awesome and the Filet Mignon melts in your mouth!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Stay Away if you want good food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a very dated, dirty Chinese restaurant. The sushi is absolutely horrible! Heard that it was recently bought by owner of Samba nearby so maybe out will improve if we are all lucky. The lunch buffet is tolerable, but I would still look elsewhere.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The "New" Chef Orient”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We use to go to Chef Orient every two months. We use to go to the Japanese side. They have recently changed ownership. Let me run down what the new owners offer: a higher priced menu, very long wait times and horrible service. It took a 1/2 hour for a chef to come over from when we placed our order. This also included getting our salad. My guess is the reason they even came within a 1/2 hour is because I repeatedly asked when we would be served. They do not have enough wait staff or chef's. Also, soup and dessert is not included in the menu price anymore. When we were waiting for our check they started sitting a large party at our table. People were actually standing behind us waiting for us to get out of our chairs. Not acceptable. I will never go here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Orient Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chef Orient Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Orient Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.