We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant motel with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Square to your Saves list
Inn on the Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant motel with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A pleasant motel with good size rooms (ours had 2 queen beds) and facilities (coffee making, good toiletries, big TV etc.) Breakfast is in a separate restaurant attached. Well-placed for touring the area.
My only complaint is that they could use cleaning materials with a less detergent-smelling odour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    118
    51
    46
See reviews for
100
193
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
turnersville, nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

likes:
It is a nice location and convenient for touring the Woods Hole area

The room had free wireless Internet, a refrigerator with a freezer, a TV with DVD player and a microwave.

Our best guess is that other rooms away from the traffic would be fine.

The staff was friendly and supportive but not upon leaving.

dislikes:
Do not get a room on the street side as the traffic is noisy ... especially, early in the morning, the truck traffic is quite noisy ... I tried to leave the heater fan in the ON position to cover the noise but it only came on when heat was needed.

THEN there as a dripping sound in the room that is loud enough to wake you up and to hear even when the TV is on ... seems that when someone in your room or a nearby room turns on the hot water, the pipe expands to make the dripping sound.

I complained upon checking out and explained how that we has a similar problem at home and what they would have to do to rid the dripping sound ... the only thing that the checkout person had to offer was that we had "booked through Hotels.com."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel booked me and my husband for the wrong night and turned us away when we showed up for what we thought was our reservation. They said our reservation was for the night before and we were "no shows." They charged our credit card and we weren't able to get a room for the night we needed since they were booked. We were a part of a wedding block so it was clearly the hotel's fault for accidentally booking us for the wrong night, but they blamed it on us for not checking our confirmation email closely enough. Lesson learned. The front desk person I spoke to twice was not willing to help us and was very unfriendly. She told me a manager would call me, but I'm still waiting for that phone call...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and visited some family and decided to stay at the Inn on the Square for the first time.
It is very conveniently located to all the Restaurants and shops. We stayed in a suite which was in a separate building next to the Inn and we enjoyed the privacy very much. Overall the quality of the room cleanliness and the bedding was in very good condition and comfortable. We had little interaction with the staff as we spent our time in the home with family and only used the suite for sleeping and some work. In regards to work, the Internet worked very well plenty of power plugs also a nice feature was a Microwave and a fridge in the room. Considering the overall value for what we paid it was excellent.

Room Tip: For the $ 20.- more book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found this Inn in one of the travelers coupon books you get at the rest stations and after looking at a few reviews decided to give it a go. When we arrived the Inn was attractive and well kept and the man at the front desk was very prompt at checking us in. He was able to give us a great room and also was able to give us a map and directions for the ocean and a few good places to check out in town. The room was better than I expected. We had a rather large room and it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean also. I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room was so clean and nice. The bed was so comfortable! The front desk persons were very kind and helpful. The pool was warm and clean. Great location....leave your car and walk in town to many shops and resteraunts. We went only for one night and wished it could have been longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was spotless, the front desk staff went above and beyond to meet our needs. While I was walking in the hall I saw into a room being cleaned that was larger than ours and asked if we could switch and we were in our huge room within 20 minutes. My daughter travels with her own bedding due to some past dirty rooms at other hotels( she even check the mattress under the sheets) she would stay here again above anywhere else. The cleaning staff was the most friendly I have ever encountered, always smiling and very accommodating. Very well appointed rooms. We travel to MA. About 6-10 times a year and have stayed between Plymouth and Falmouth, I would not stay anywhere else again.Its nice to see people who enjoy their jobs! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Square 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.