We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Sound

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn on the Sound to your Saves list
Inn on the Sound
313 Grand Avenue, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Falmouth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time to this area (family vacation). We just spent 3 wonderful nights at Inn on the Sound after a 4 day visit to Boston! What a great way to end our vacation! We were greeted by Howard, who was extremely friendly and helpful. We were a bit early, so Howard gave us discount coupons for the Ferry to Martha's Vineyard, where we spent our first day. When we checked into our rooms, we found they were extremely inviting and clean. Everything that you could possibly need was there for us (toiletries, beach towels, beach chairs) We had harbor views and could see Martha's Vineyard from our room - which was extremely wonderful as Saturday evening we were able to sit on our deck and watch the fireworks display across the bay! Each morning started with a wonderful breakfast - served by Howard and Whitney! Howard and Whitney offered wonderful suggestions and directions to many of the sites that we wanted to visit. There was always tea, fruit and wonderful homemade biscotti on the counter, and cold water and soda in the fridge for our enjoyment! We were also able to use the fridge for any personal items! We truly were made to feel special and pampered! We highly recommend Inn on the Sound!!! Thank you to Howard for making us feel so "special"!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View! You could see Martha's Vineyard from those rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
226
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just spent three nights at Inn on the Sound and I can sum up our experience in one word: Wonderful! My husband and I aren't B&B aficionados but we do know quality, hospitality and kindness when we see it and Howard and his staff delivered all three in spades! From the unbeatable location (near Martha's Vineyard ferry, nice beach and walkable to downtown), to the breath-taking view of the Sound and Martha's Vineyard, to the excellent and generously prepared food, to the surprisingly well-thought out amenities (no need to bring your own beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels or even beach bag), to the courteous and thorough housekeeping, to the pristinely cared for and elegantly but comfortably furnished rooms... this place has it all. I will definitely recommend it to my friends. Check it out for yourself! ... Kate

Room Tip: We didn't get a room with a view as they were all booked up. However, our room was a little less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice location on the ocean. Agree with most of what the prior reviews stated. A couple issues. The bathroom was extremely small especially for my husband and the room was too. For 323$ we expected more space although the view was great. When making the reservation the Innkeeper was a bit gruff and I was put off almost to the point of not staying there. I understand it's the summer season and busy but he was almost rude. When we met him in person he was friendly. Although it was a pleasant stay I would probably not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonsound, Owner at Inn on the Sound, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
While we are gratified that mvine's stay was pleasant, it was short of our goal that her visit with us be extraordinary. 'Gruff' and 'rude' will always be absent from our B&B; we are sorry for whatever caused the perception. We are grateful to mvine for sharing her observations; they will serve as motivation to improve all our guests' experiences at Inn on the Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

An incredible inn with outrageous water views. Howard and Whitney your innkeepers are a wealth of information and bend over backwards to be sure your stay is pleasant. Can you say,"no stress?" This inn is tranquil and spotless with a great beach right across the street. Did I mention the delicious stuffed French toast?
I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Inn on the Sound for a few days last year and returned this year for a full week. We were active the first few days of our trip, but we succumbed to the peace, beauty, and comfort of the inn for the rest of the vacation. All the things that other reviews have mentioned are vividly true: impeccably clean premises, crisp rooms, food delicious in taste and presentation. All details are thought of, from umbrellas/chairs for the beach to suction cups on the shower curtain liners so it's easy not to splash water out. And the staff at every level are fantastic: professional, warm, and just excellent at what they do. We will be back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. If you cannot get an oceanfront room, no worries: other rooms open onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a wonderful place! Soo quiet and relaxing. The rooms were very private, very clean and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed our visit to the Inn! The hosts were so friendly and welcoming. They made us feel right at home. Our room had a breathtaking view, with a wonderful deck. A very private and pretty beach was right across the street. Easy and quick to get to. Our hosts thought of every little detail to make our visit enjoyable, i.e. beach towels, bag, umbrella, cold drinks in fridge, etc. The breakfast was wonderful also. Nicely prepared and delicious! We can't wait to go back...what a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at this wonderful B&B! We loved our room, immaculate and beautifully decorated...We loved our breakfasts, gourmet and delicious...We loved the location, gorgeous views and wonderful shops and restaurants...And last but not least, we loved Howard! He was so helpful with guiding us in our decisions of what to see and do each day, and we felt as though we had known him forever! He makes you feel so welcomed and genuinely concerned that you feel at home....I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Just ask Howard....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Sound

Address: 313 Grand Avenue, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Inn on the Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Sound Hotel Falmouth
Inn On The Sound Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.