We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - basic motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Motel of Falmouth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Falmouth
Dorval, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location - basic motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July. The room was a good size and immaculately clean. We were given a fan when checking in as there is no air conditioning & it was hot. We had the doors at both ends of the room open to let the air blow through. We were facing the harbour so it was kind of noisy from boats and cars. We really could have done with an air-conditioner. It is right on the beach which is really nice until you get to the water. It is really rocky in the water and not just for a few feet like some areas. That part was disappointing. We were gone most of the time so it didn’t matter except for the last day we wanted to relax on the beach & in the water. We found it expensive for what it was, but that is Falmouth; everything is expensive. You need to bring your own shampoo, etc. There was a coffee maker & fridge in the room. No pool.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean are nicer & probably more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This motel is not fancy, but I've always found it to be immaculately clean. There is no better location on the Cape. It's incredibly beautiful to look out over Martha's Vineyard sound and watch the boats coming and going from the harbor. Plenty of dining options in the area. I won't stay anywhere else in the Falmouth area because the location is simply perfect.

Room Tip: I like the second floor because of the view, and better air circulation on warm nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were delighted with the choice of this motel, and enjoyed it more than any other on our tour of New England, because of its perfect location, right on the beach by Falmouth Harbor. Regrettably we only had two nights, but could have spent a week there, relaxing by the ocean. Room 5 was on the ground floor, with a patio right on the beach. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and recently decorated to a good standard. A clock and glasses would have been nice (plastic cups not great for sipping wine!), but all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We checked into this motel for my brothers wedding weekend, the place is on a great spot, however the room was so musty smelling and my son was sitting in the bed and told us there was a bug! we googled the picture and it was exactly what a bed bug is! We then tore apart the bed and found a couple more. We told the office and they swore they were not bed bugs. That night we were so discusted and slept fully clothed and got new blankets (on our own) for our kids to sleep in. The next morning my husband took a shower and found another bug on him! That was it.... we packed up and stayed somewhere else! The office never resolved anything and told us again it was not bed bugs and if it were they would have to fumigate the whole entire place and it would be costly. My guess.......THEY WONT DO IT! beware!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidesMotel, Owner at Tides Motel of Falmouth, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
My family has owned The Tides Motel since 1968 and has never had an incident with bed bugs. I understand that bed bug infestation has grown to epidemic levels across the country in recent years and we do everything possible to prevent and protect ourselves from such issues. Having said that, knowing how easily bed bugs are spread we would never conduct ourselves in the manor presented by the reviewer. This review is completely fictitious and unfortunately TripAdvisor will not allow us to respond to the review with the truth of what happened. This review is nothing more than an attempt to extort money from our business and we are amazed that TripAdvisor is allowing it to happen. We ask that you look at our reviews from the past years and you can easily see the glaring contrast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Tides Motel and loved it. The motel is very basic but very clean. The cleaning staff was busy cleaning windows, sweeping, etc. the entire time we were there. The location is great. The beach is private but rocky. The public beach is about a half mile up the hill. We enjoyed both. A ferry to Matha's Vinyard is only a half mile away (walk so you don't have to pay $15 to park). The motel is about 2-3 miles from the tourist shops and restaurants. We would definately go back! Two stories, no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The room is very clean...the view is amazing! Love hearing the sound of the waves! The staff is super friendly and helpful...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We actually were invited to stay by friends.They had found hotel on line,we all are familar with area usually rent a home in heights.Loved the private beach! Rooms are very clean and ground well kept.Maid service very prompt and thorough each day.Only complaint is beds are a bit to hard and pillows not so plush. Quite for sleeping and nice ocean breeze.This is a annual weekend trip for our freinds and family we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Motel of Falmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tides Motel of Falmouth to your Saves list