We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great idea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shining Sea Bikeway

Shining Sea Bikeway
Falmouth, MA
508 548 7611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Falmouth
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a great idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband read about this and we decided to walk some of it on Saturday, the day was just glorious. Off we went, not really realising that we had walked the whole way from Falmouth to Woods Hole! The path is wide and with the yellow line down the middle makes you mindful of staying to your side as cyclists need to pass. Lots of people were using it and everyone was smiling and saying hello! A great idea and great use of a line that obviously was used in olden days, no prolem crossing the roads along the way, the view is brilliant and the seating handy when feet started aching! Wonderful idea, an absolute must-try if in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    48
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Henrietta, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cycling and Walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The path is convenient and lovely! We loved the canopy and the views, it is really a must if you enjoy outdoor activities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“beautiful, scenic, well kept bike trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The views are beautiful and you can ride right into Woods Hole for a drink or lunch. Part of the trail goes right along the beach which is very rare. We love it and ride it every time we go to the cape. From starting point to Woods Hole is about 11 miles one way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun little bike trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice little walk down an old train line turned into a bike trail. Very straight and naturey, not too many sites to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“exercise, views, and access to the area by bike and feet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took the path on foot from Falmouth to Wood's Hole, to get exercise, see the area, both forests and beaches, and limit our driving. It is quiet and pretty, with very little bike usage during the fall season, and more foot traffic. Not sure what it is like in the summer season, but probably still a good way to get outdoors and exercise.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shining Sea Bikeway also viewed

 

Been to Shining Sea Bikeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shining Sea Bikeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.