We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Breeze Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Breeze Inn
321 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Falmouth
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in Efficiency E-3 for three nights and loved the charming and spacious one bedroom with a well-equipped kitchen, large bathroom and a view of Martha’s Vineyard. The kitchen has a microwave but not a stove; however, there is a BBQ just outside by the pool for guests to use. On arrival Don gave us helpful information about the Falmouth and Cape Cod and both he and Walt are very friendly and hospitable hosts.

We did not know much about Falmouth but it is such a pretty town – we had chosen it as a good base to see Cape Cod and Plymouth (picked up rental car through Enterprise at a very reasonable rate) and close proximity for catching the ferry over to Martha’s Vineyard.

The Beach Breeze is well located with the beach a few steps away and the main street, with plenty of places to eat, is an easy walk away - we ate at Liam Maguire’s Irish Pub which was fun. Also Woods Hole is another pretty little place to visit nearby where we also ate at Pie in the Sky (wholesome food) and Landfall (great view and atmosphere). We very much enjoyed our stay at Beach Breeze Inn and would recommend it as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    27
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
125
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nhulunbuy, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in the E1 efficiency suite, which was very comfortable. The inn staff were very friendly and helpful, making good recommendations for things to do and places to eat. A highlight was sitting out on the lawn each evening while the kids spent hours playing in the great sandpit they have.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we held my Daughter's wedding at the BBI and my daughter refers to it as the wedding she had always dreamed of! I can't say enough about this quaint Victorian style Inn or the wonderful gentlemen who run the place, Don and Walt, who we now refer to as friends. The Inn was cozy, comfortable and very clean and each room had its own Cape Cod personality and style. We filled the Inn for the weekend with family and friends and sitting pool side, grilling hamburgers and hot dogs was so relaxing, it felt like an extension of home, only better! The location of the BBI is ideal. Walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The town of Falmouth is lovely and offers a little something for everyone. I highly recommend the Beach Breeze Inn, whether for a few night stay or hosting a family reunion. A charming gathering place. I look forward to my next visit with my new friends Don and Walt at the BBI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived in Falmouth to find our rental the worst looking building in the area. The inside was little better. We found the highly rated Beach Breeze Inn on Trip Advisor and changed accommodations. What a great find! From the first hello through all five days we had a thoroughly good time; nice room, friendly staff, even loaned us sunblock. You won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croissy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We left the BBI with mixed feelings: the house is absolutely charming, delightfully furnished, well kept and looks out onto the sea; we were warmly welcomed by Don, who carried our luggage up to our room, and both he and Walt, the innkeeper gave us a lot of suggestions and local information. Although breakfast is not provided, what may be termed the breakfast room is a pleasant area where coffee and tea are freely available as well as a table where guests can eat breakfast if they decide to bring it in. The town centre with a good choice of restaurants and shops is within walkable distance (about 10 minutes) – but take a torch if you do it after dusk: the street lighting is very "intimate"…
We had found the bed pillows a little "high" and a request for slightly "lower" ones was met immediately and efficiently.
The pool looked very nice, but given that we were only end of May and that, as Don said, it is just heated by Mother Nature, we decided to give it a miss.
So given all these positive aspects, why did we leave with mixed feelings?
The first was that we got the impression, rightly or wrongly, that we had been subject to a "switch sell". Let me explain: we booked in early February for our stay at the end of May and we booked Room 9, based on the photos on the website, the description of the room and the price. The booking confirmation indeed specified Room 9. When we arrived, we were informed that the people occupying Room 9 had decided to extend their stay and therefore we were being "upgraded" to the Vineyard Room. This may well have been an upgrade, although we obviously had no way of comparing the Vineyard Room with the one booked and judging the benefit of this indicated upgrade. We were told that the Vineyard Room had just been redecorated, but that would not in itself, I feel, be sufficient to justify the term of "upgrade". In fact, a check on the website after our return showed that for comparable periods / length of stay, the rates for Room 9 and the Vineyard Room are identical, which would not tend to confirm the upgrade. Contrary to a hotel, where rooms are not substantially different, in an establishment such as the BBI which rightly stresses the characteristics of each room, to be allocated a room which was not the one originally booked instils a sense of disappointment right from the outset. The BBI was not full at the time of our visit, as witnessed by the "Vacancy" sign outside, and if "our" original room could not be provided, perhaps we should have been given a choice of an alternative room, rather than just being told which one we were allocated to. The website specifies very clearly that the BBI adheres strictly to its cancellation policy if guests decide to change their plans. Perhaps the same should apply to the benefit of guests in the reverse situation?
The second reason for our mixed feelings was one that only became apparent during our first night: the bed in our room creaked terribly and any movement by my wife or I was enough to produce a noise sufficient to impact our night's rest. Once again, when we mentioned the problem to Walt the following morning, he reacted sympathetically and said he would see what he could do to solve the problem – but as I suspected, such a problem is not easily resolved and our second night was similar to the first. Whether the creaking was due to the wickerwork bed-head or something else, I do not know, but it was a real bind – and perhaps the bed in the room we had originally booked would have been silent, who knows?
So on balance, despite the lovely house, situation and warm welcome, only an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My new husband and I stayed in the Nobska Room at the Beach Breeze Inn for our week long honeymoon. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is quintessential New England- cozy, roomy, homey, pretty, beachy, extremely clean... I could go on and on. We were just SO happy there!!! The manager, Walt, was absolutely wonderful. He made delicious coffee every morning and he is so incredibly friendly that we just felt right at home in the kitchen chatting with him. Walt was also a wealth of knowledge about Cape Cod and was more than helpful in telling us what to see, where to go, etc... He also lent us maps, books, umbrellas and anything else we needed. I would go back to Beach Breeze Inn in a heartbeat. It was the best place I've ever stayed at. SO ready to pack my bags again! :)

Room Tip: Nobska Room- 3rd (top) floor, roomy, comfortable bed, ocean view, super cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights here and had a great time. The inn is a short walk from the beach and a slightly longer wander up to the centre of Falmouth to take advantage of all its lovely restaurants and bars. There is a great patio for whiling away an afternoon in the sun and a pool on site (which some of our party did actually use - even though everyone else thought it was too cold - guess that's because we're Brits!)

Walt was a fantastic host, making us feel at home from the minute we arrived. Full of excellent local knowledge, sharing hints and tips for places to visit/eat/drink.

Having visited several "chain" hotels over the past few years on the Cape, we will certainly be booking in at the Beach Breeze again the next time we're in the area - it's nice to have finally found a hotel that embodies all that Cape Cod is about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Breeze Inn

Address: 321 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Breeze Inn is an 1858 traditional Cape Cod style Inn that has been restored to it's original beauty while adding the modern amenities expected by today's travelers. We are located just 100 yards from the warm waters of Vineyard Sound and feature ocean views in most of our rooms and air conditioning in all of our rooms new in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Breeze Hotel Falmouth
Beach Breeze Falmouth
Beach Breeze Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beach Breeze Inn to your Saves list