We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is the best in Falmouth, the rest must be gawdawful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   146 Falmouth Heights Rd, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Western Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If this is the best in Falmouth, the rest must be gawdawful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I'm baffled by the rating here on Trip Advisor. We were seriously disappointed with out one night stay and very grateful that we hadn't been able to book two nights as we had originally hoped to do.

We stayed in the middle of October. The photographs on the web site are quite misleading. Though the wall behind our beds and the beds looked as pictured, the pictures did not show the hideously ugly wall covered with white carpet and the dark brown, ugly, 1950s doors which was what we looked at while lying on the beds. The chairs at the table were sprung and very uncomfortable to sit in. The light switches were oddly placed. The shower drained poorly.

Nor did it capture the smell of the place which was dank and moldy, or the sound of the people upstairs who thumped on the floor for three solid hours ,doing what I cannot begin to imagine. We gave up plans to read and watched TV just to drown out the noise.

There was heat, but there was no way to adjust the thermostat, so even though the temperatures were dropping at night, we had to turn the heat off as it made the room extremely hot. We put the fan on in hopes it would help with the smell, but it didn't, and just made a funny noise.

The "resort" is a hodgepodge of a creepy-looking old 1950s motel and some houses that had been converted into motel rooms. We stayed in the "deluxe Queen" room which was in one of the converted old houses. As mentioned in other reviews, the outside door did not lock and our room was locked with a key which did not make us feel particularly safe, as keys are so easily copied.

No one was there when we checked out, so we left the keys in the room. We had reserved our room with one credit card and paid at the desk with another upon arrival, and the receipt we got listed that credit card, but when I looked at my credit card bill a week later (when they had closed for the season)I found they had charged the first card, which wasn't what we wanted.

No one was in the office when we left at 7:40 in the morning when we checked out. We never found out what the "continental breakfast" was like because it wasn't served until long after we were up and ready to flee. Since it was served in the tiny motel office, where there are no tables or anything suggesting dining, it is probably nothing more than a cup of weak coffee and a muffin.

We got the end of season bargain rate (though we paid extra for the "deluxe" room.) Had we paid summer rates we would have felt distinctly ripped off, though the sad fact is that all hotels on the Cape are pretty much a ripoff in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFHMLManagement, Manager at Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I am pleased that this reviewer questioned the continental breakfast as there is a lot of controversy surrounding the difference between continental breakfast and breakfast. AAA defines a continental breakfast as a Danish and coffee. We offer much more. Our continental includes coffee, juice, milk, tea, two or three Danish options each morning, two kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal and Nutrigrain bars. Unfortunately, the Lodge does not have a breakfast room, yet, we have a lovely picnic grove with tables, chairs and awnings where many guests enjoy their continental breakfast, others choose to return to their rooms and many more guests appreciate that the offerings are easy to carry whilst they are running off to catch the ferry or hit the beach. The office opens promptly each morning at 7:30 and continental is served from 7:45 until 10am.
Regarding this reviewer’s opinion of the Motor Lodge looks. Yes, we are a Motor Lodge. Through the years, many guests have asked why we haven’t changed the name because we are so much more than just a motor lodge, but, our original building is a motor lodge. Since the family began running the Lodge in 1969, the buildings surrounding it have been acquired and converted into guest rooms enabling us to offer several accommodation types from affordable to our version of luxury and everything in between. In addition, there is a beautiful patio pool, over four acres of award winning landscape, a path to the beach, a picnic grove, children's play area and our location to Falmouth’s highlights can’t be beat. In the original building, the Lodge’s guest rooms are on the smaller side (approximately 224 sq. ft.) but are enjoyed by many for their affordability, parking (right next to the room) and first floor, no stairs convenience. But, remember, there are now seven guest rooms from which to select, our largest sleeps up to six, some have kitchens and are quite spacious.
Common to Cape Cod, a beach destination, Motor Lodge properties exist in many of the towns in spite of this reviewer’s opinion that they are “creepy looking.” Several of the comments made within this review could have easily been resolved with one phone call to the front desk. The Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge is in the industry of service and hospitality. The Lodge’s staff is on call 24 hours a day to make our guest's stay pleasant and enjoyable. Please give us the opportunity to correct any unpleasant situation instead of enduring “three hours” of noise or using the credit card you wished you had.
Finally, I would ask that you refer to the review dated September 18, 2012, entitled “Nice Place to Stay,” derived from Maryland. The Maryland reviewer stayed in the same room as this reviewer and had a completely different assessment of the guest room. Not everyone has the same likes and dislikes. As always, we appreciate your comments and continue to make improvements to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    48
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
88
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent accommodation in Falmouth and very handy for the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. we had a room in the Beach House which had a queen bed, verandah with views and ample living space. Breakfast very simple but adequate and the staff were excellent, the whole place was very clean, overall a good start to our holiday, no real faults to record here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the queen rooms in the Beach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I cannot speak regarding the motor lodge itself, because we stayed in one of the surrounding houses and enjoyed our stay there. We were in Harbor House #2 on the first floor on the left. I would choose that room again. It has 2 queen beds, microwave, fridge, WiFi, and is extremely roomy. The room seemed to be recently renovated because looked quite pristine and very clean. It was also quiet and had easy parking right in front. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was not much to speak about since it was mainly a couple dry cereal choices and some packaged muffins, and there was no seating, but it was enough to get us on our way. It is a very convenient location. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Harbor House part of the complex - 1st floor, unless you do not mind lugging y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was so convenient to Main St and the beach and staff very upbeat and helpful! Different family members were scattered across a variety of accommodations and all were very satisfied.
We appreciated the continental breakfast and the morning coffee. I am already thinking about the next visit!

Room Tip: some rooms actually have ocean view, some more privacy, depends on what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been coming to the Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge for years.The staff is helpful and friendly,and the owners are wonderful.During our recent stay at room #22 Beach House King,
the room was beautiful. It is always a pleasure staying at the Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
The grounds are beautiful and the pool is a treat.
We always feel like we are at home away from home.

J and K Davis

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This in was very clean and convenient to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. The staff as extremely friendly and informative about the area. The contenential breakfast was suffisiant, however the lobby was small and the food had to be eaten in your room. The grounds were beautiful and well groomed. The pool was a great addttion. Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northville, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arrived on Sun., we upgraded to the Grand cottage#32 (I think that is what it was called - very spacious with two queen beds, two big picture windows, microwave, refrig. (ice just outside door) with a balcony on the side and you could see the ocean from the one window and were within a block of the ocean with its sandy beach and benches to accommodate us older people!! The grounds were very pretty with flowers, gazebo, tables and chairs. Continental breakfast included in the lobby. The office people were very accommodating and we were within a short walk to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. We looked first at the motel part and the rooms were quite small there but we were very satisfied with our stay. Room was very clean and spotless. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Would definitely stay in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge

Address: 146 Falmouth Heights Rd, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six distinct buildings, 4.5 award winning landscaped acres situated 175 yards from famous Falmouth Heights Beach, 3 minutes walk to the Martha's Vineyard Ferry and 1/2 mile to Main Street. Seven room categories from economical to luxury, meeting all traveler's wallets. All guest rooms have refrigerators, microwaves,flat screen tv, air conditioning, some have balconies or decks. The are guest rooms with full kitchenettes or efficiencies for all the comforts of home while away. A beautiful patio pool awaits you surrounded by lush lawns which are adorned with glider swings, gas grilles and a picnic grove. A terrific spot for family reunions, weddings and more. Come, stay and play! Plus, the location can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falmouth Heights Motor Hotel Falmouth
Falmouth Heights Hotel
Falmouth Heights Motel
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.