We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Exceptional Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RooBar on Main - CLOSED

RooBar on Main
285 Main St (Rte 28), Falmouth Center, Falmouth, MA
508 548 8600
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, Exceptional Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wide array of creative and superbly prepared foods. The service was great, atmosphere was quite cozy, and the choice of martinis was far beyond expectations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“RooBar did a great job serving our crowd!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I visited the RooBar on a Sunday night before Christmas with a crowd, all of us performing in a show playing in Falmouth. We were on a dinner break between shows and did not have a lot of time. The staff was very accommodating. The food was excellent - my husband and I shared sliders, delicious homemade fries with chipotle aioli, and a salad...and it was perfect. Others enjoyed gourmet pizzas, soups, salads, appetizers - all of it quite wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun bar, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Roo Bar is not a tourist place with bad fried food--thankfully. It has an open kitchen and an urban vibe. Menu changes regularly, which provides the best food in season. Lots of cool drink choices, decent wine list. Never had a bad meal and we go here regularly. Only downside is the owner/manager (not sure which) is sort of unfriendly which is odd but the rest of the staff are terrific.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You have to be kiding me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Service: Waiter-excellent, kitchen-awful
They don't allow reservations, but they do have call ahead seating. That shortened our wait to 30 minutes. After we sat down we ordered drinks. Fifteen minutes later we ordered food. 1.5 hours later we had not been served. It is never permissable to tell a story about a problem in the kitchen. That is like my dog ate my homework. We paid for our drinks and left. We were a party of six. We had a total of seven drinks, 5 manhattens, one beer and one wine. The bill was over $90. A Makers Mark Manhatten $13, Please! All the yuppees who rave about this place must have an obsessive need to impress someone with how much they are able to spend in a restaurant. It's a chain people, and Ruths Chris it is not. There are far too many better restaurants on the Cape to park your mercedes in front of.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Clarendon, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Every year my husband and I vacation on Cape Cod and every year without fail we make it a point to visit RooBar in Falmouth. This year we got to go there twice to have dinner with friends. Once in August and again in October. Both times I had their very excellent Cape Scallops, and both times it was perfectly cooked and absolutely delish. Everyone we've brought there has been impressed with their innovative and interesting food.

Okay so it is a bit noisy on a Saturday night, but what do you expect from a popular bistro? Their drinks menu is extensive as well. Already looking forward to next year.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RooBar on Main also viewed

Teaticket, Falmouth
 
Woods Hole, Falmouth
Woods Hole, Falmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RooBar on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.