We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina Sul Mare

La Cucina Sul Mare
237 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2746
508-548-5600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 148 restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a very busy restaurant in peak season so you need to put your name down and then wait for a table to come free. You can't book. However when you get a table the for is very nice and the decor pleasant. An enjoyable night out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    82
    50
    30
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Falmouth Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great atmosphere...delicious & huge mixed greens salad...perfectly done Halibut...good wine selection...friendly service!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent in all categories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came in when the dining room was full, so we sat at the bar, and had a great meal. The barman was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu, not pushy or annoying at all. He even suggested my husband and I share the appetizer, because the portions are so generous. In fact we could have shared the entrée also...

The food was delicious, and the menu showed creativity and talent. We are foodies... and we were impressed.

Sometimes a good meal (or bad one, for that matter) is just a string of coincidences, so we returned a week later. Different barman, just as good, and this time we did share both courses - with not a blink from the barman. Just as good the second time, and we ordered different wines and different dishes.

I'd go there again anytime!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“POOR FOOD, WORSE SERVICE & WORST ATTITUDE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the worst experiences the three of us have ever had. All the food arrived cold and when we asked for it to be reheated, it returned just lukewarm; rather than create a fuss, we ate it. The server never came back to our table after delivering the food the second time. After waiting 15 minutes after we had finished eating, I went in search of help. The owner argued with me - denying that there was any problem with the food or the service. After quite a discussion, she very grudgingly removed one meal from the bill. Her arrogance was the most annoying part of the situation - if she had even tried to make things right, I would not have posted this review..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On the recommendation of our hosts, we had dinner at La Cucina Sul Mara on Sunday, August 11, and the entire experience was excellent!! The spacious restaurant has beautiful high ceilings which are complimented by a great bar and tables that are not too close to the next table. Our waitress was wonderful, giving us time to review the menu and then providing a great array of specials. The waitress brought a basket of great bread with a garlic/white bean dipping oil that was wonderful. My husband ordered the shrimp cocktail appetizer which consisted of four jumbo shrimp which were very tasty along with a houses salad that was quite large and chicken piccatta with angel hair pasta and asparagus which were fantastic. I ordered the house special salad which was out of this world!! The salad consisted of varied greens along with macadamia nuts, dried cranberries, and goat cheese topped with a warm vinegarette dressing. I order many salads and this was one of the best. The atmostphere was great, our waitress was wonderful, and our meals were fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Sul Mare also viewed

 

Been to La Cucina Sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina Sul Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.