We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Motel

Save Saved
You added Mariner Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Falmouth
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

we stayed at the mariner motel on our recent trip to cape cod, the host's were very friendly and could'nt do enough to accomodate us.
The coffee was great in the morning and the hairdryer we borrowed saved the day!

many thanks for a trouble free stay.

k.phanco.
manchester UK.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — famous betsy's dinner is almost next door
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    11
    10
    11
See reviews for
31
46
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Mariner this weekend and would highly recommend staying here. The rate is reasonable, the location is ideal, and the staff is top notch. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. What more could you want from a motel?

It was a little like taking a trip back in time which I found to be charming. It is an older building, but it's kept in nice shape.

We look forward to staying there again!

  • Liked — The quaintness
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a hair dryer
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

This quaint motel is located in the heart of fascinating Falmouth. You’re within walking distance of great shops, fantastic restaurants and the Falmouth Commodores baseball team home field.
The friendly and helpful staff at the Mariner prides themselves in making your stay an enjoyable one.
During my visit, I got to know the proprietors Bob, Karen and Matt along with many of their friends who would stop by throughout the day to get a fresh cup of coffee in the office. I was really made to feel at home during my two week stay. Later in the summer, my son visited the Cap and stayed at the Mariner as well. Although his visit was shorter, he had a great time and was also made welcome.
Frankly this is not a new motel but not many are in the Cap. It's clean, quiet and comfortable with a friendly staff and I plan on staying there again next summer when I visit the Cap.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet and friendly
  • Disliked — Poor internet signal
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy your self in Falmouth
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Our recent stay at the Mariner Motel in Falmouth, MA was very pleasant. We found the proprietors very accommodating and informative. The room was very clean and the pool was always available when we were not sightseeing or shopping. The location is ideal, close to shopping, restaurants, beaches, and ferry to islands. We plan to go back in September for another stay.
We give it *****.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

I just don't understand the bad reviews that some people have submitted about this motel. I guess some people are simply going to be miserable and you can't please them matter what you do. Let me tell you about what to expect from the Mariner:

1) Cleanliness: This is among the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed. The rooms are almost antiseptically spotless. The linens and the beds appear to be brand new. The bathrooms are simply sparkling. On a scale of one to ten, the Mariner rates a ten!

2) Noise: Or better put, lack thereof. The Mariner is right on a main street yet you cannot hear any traffic at all. The building is sturdy and the walls isolate most everything.

3) Amenities: You get a refrigerator with plenty of room to store a few days' worth of provisions. Someone spoke of a “dorm fridge." What more do you need when you're traveling? A walk in freezer?

4) Location: You're situated in the middle of everything, with the beach on one end and downtown Falmouth on the other. Everything is within walking distance. Ferry tickets are available at the front desk and the ferry terminal itself is within walking distance.

5) Management: This is a family-owned and operated business. The owners are hospitable and great conversationalists. I stay at the Mariner every year and Bob and Karen are always great hosts. I look forward to next summers' stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, value and friendly management
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the management about all the best places to eat, visit, etc.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Don't try to cancel, because the owner has a 14-day cancelation policy and he'll charge you, even if you only made the reservation a few days before your arrival date! Also, the furnishings and decorations were from c1950, the ceilings were low, and the beds uncomfortable -- though none of that is as bad as the SMELL, which was very musty and animal-like. Definitely not worth the money; I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

I was put up at this motel through my job. Everything is old and low budget. I don't know what the rate was because I was'nt paying the bill. There is a pool out back in the woods and a tiny dorm fridge in the room. No spare outlets and a view of a nursing home.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motel

Address: 555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you Falmouth's best value and its first 100% smoke-free motel. Located within a short stroll to Falmouth harbor and the Martha's Vineyard ferry, shops, outstanding restaurants, and entertainment. All our smoke-free, tastefully decorated, immaculate guest rooms include refrigerators, direct-dial telephones, free wi-fi internet access, cable TV, heat and air conditioning. Two children 18 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mariner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod
Mariner Hotel Falmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.