We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Convenient to Martha's Vineyard Ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariner Motel to your Saves list
Mariner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient to Martha's Vineyard Ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We needed a place to stay for one night and chose this motel based upon price and reviews.

After a ten hour drive from Virginia everything was just fine with the room. There was a nice mini fridge in the room and the bathroom was clean. I was worried about traffic because the parking lot wraps around the motel with a one-way drive so every car drives by the room. With the A/C fan on we didn't notice the cars overnight so that turned out to be a non-issue.

Everyone in the office was SUPER friendly and pointed us to town with some restaurant suggestions. There is a bakery/coffee shop a few blocks away and they have dynamite chocolate croissant's.

I suppose everyone can have a bad day, but we had a great experience here. This is an old motel but they have kept it in really good shape as far as I could tell. I would pick it again if I am ever in the area again.

Room Tip: This is a one story motel. Our room was a few doors down from the office and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    14
    10
    11
See reviews for
34
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Clean, standard motel room. Good sized room and bathroom, furnished as you would expect for the price. Beds a bit saggy, but we were in a twin queen room, so had one each to avoid arguments! Friendly, helpful staff. Easy walk to the centre of Falmouth and its numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The level of comfort at the Mariner Motel was lacking. I didnt find the bed very comfortable and in fact felt that it tilted downward at the head of the bed. The cleanliness was sufficient but appeared as if it was just dusted over. It seems there are people that live at the hotel and people walked past your door/windows at all times of the day and into the night. It was probably what should be expected from a motel like setting, I've just stayed at more comfortable places that would be linked in the same price/style bracket as this motel. I will say, however, that the woman ho j=checked us in was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolsson, Owner at Mariner Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are the recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award for 2012 and 2013. AAA and other guests have rated our housekeeping as exceptional. Our beds are the finest Sealy Posturepedics and we receive many compliments on a great nights sleep. If you leave your picture window drapes and door open you can watch guests going to and from their rooms as they walk to our shops and restaurants in quaint Falmouth center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during October and was v pleased with my stay. For the nightly rate the room is what you'd expect - basic, but with all essentials. I was in apartment 24 and the bed was v comfortable and the shower had excellent water pressure. The only slightly annoyance was that the mini fridge periodically makes a popping sound (like popping a champagne bottle), but it's no biggy.

The motel is excellently located, within walking distance to the main shopping street. The owner Karen is extremely lovely, helpful and full of enthusiasm for Falmouth. She is an excellent person to ask for hints and tips on where to go and eat. She recommended I go to Betsy's Diner for my breakfast which didn't disappoint and I only needed an apple for lunch as they fed me so well! She also picked me up from the coach depot and was very welcoming after a gruelling day dealing with delayed flights and long queues at border control, which really helped me to relax and enjoy my stay.

I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed here as part of a wedding group. The person checking us in, Karen, who I assume was the owner since she lived in a house behind the motel, was great. She was very pleasant, funny, and knowledge about the wedding plans and of course the area. The motel is located right in the heart of downtown Falmouth, so there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.
The rooms very clean, large and comfortable. Big bathroom with a walk in shower, with very hot water which is sometime unusual in hotels. The only thing I can say negative is that the shower could use more shelves to place toiletries. Other than that a very nice place to stay with a great price and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday in Boston, Cape Cod and New Hampshire. We chose the Mariner Motel as our base for our 2 day stay in Cape Cod.
This worked out very well for us and the town of Falmouth was lovely. We were traveling as a couple with my sister and her husband so we had rooms right next door to each other, which was great.
The owner Karen gave us a very warm welcome and sincerely wanted to ensure that we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay.
The rooms were bright and spacious and spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was a lovely outdoor pool area but we didn't get time to use it. Maybe next time.
This motel definitely represents very good value for money and would be great for families as it has a lovely safe ambience.
Thanks Karen for a great stay in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Awesome place. The host and hostess are wonderful people. They do not mind helping a person out. The room was beautiful. Quiet place, you do not even hear the traffic. Close walking to the shopping area. I cannot say enough about this place, but I will say, and this is a quote....."STAY THERE, IT IS WORTH IT".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mariner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motel

Address: 555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you Falmouth's best value and its first 100% smoke-free motel. Located within a short stroll to Falmouth harbor and the Martha's Vineyard ferry, shops, outstanding restaurants, and entertainment. All our smoke-free, tastefully decorated, immaculate guest rooms include refrigerators, direct-dial telephones, free wi-fi internet access, cable TV, heat and air conditioning. Two children 18 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mariner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod
Mariner Hotel Falmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.