We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InnSeason Resorts Surfside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InnSeason Resorts Surfside to your Saves list
InnSeason Resorts Surfside
134 Menauhant Road, East Falmouth, Falmouth, MA 02536   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn Season Surfside for 3 years now, and each year has been a nice vacation. We stayed in a one bedroom in the 500s numbered building. The main room is well furnished with a large dinning table, full-size pull out couch, updated kitchen with microwave and oven (no dishwasher), and flat screen TV. The bedroom has a new king sized bed and a larger, dated, tube style TV, but it works just fine. The AC worked perfectly in both rooms and we had beautiful views of the ocean and pond on both sides of our balcony. The property is very well maintained and beautifully landscaped! We loved using the shuffle board and bocce ball courts - definitely an added bonus!

The staff in the main office were continuously friendly and always seemed to have smiles on their faces. One female member of the office staff was especially friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating every time we interacted with her. I wish I remembered her name to give her the proper credit...

There were a few things we thought could have been improved upon / made our trip better:

- The cleaning staff is mediocre at best. They do not do a thorough cleaning daily or make the beds, but just give new towels. The cleaning woman was continuously rude to us and it seemed like we got fewer and fewer towels every day. We also found a stash of about 8 Oreo cookies under the pull out couch that were not left by anyone in our party. We actually had to clean them up ourselves out of fear of bugs. It's pretty obvious that the cleaning team only does a surface job on the rooms. They also started knocking on the door around 9:30AM. Hello?! I'm on vacation and sleeping!
- I had to pay $21 for wireless internet access for the week. I have stayed in many different classes of hotels, but it has been a LONG time since I have had to pay anything for wireless access. Also, if I'm paying $21, I expect high speed access. The internet kept dropping and I had to keep signing in to the network. Very annoying!
- The beach is extremely rocky - there isn't soft sand to sit in and I would recommend water shoes if you go in the water (this is not the fault of the hotel, but just the way the beach is)
- There were so many children in the pool! I know this is a family place, but I felt like I was being held hostage. So much screaming, yelling, noise making, that I had a headache by the time I left the pool. I just hope the pool's PH is well regulated bc I saw some suspect things that these kids did that made me not want to go in (again, this is not the fault of the hotel)

Overall, these things did not hinder our vacation, and we will return to Surfside again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here the week of June 7-Jun 14. Hit or miss on the weather. However, we live a the beach in South Carolina, so we didn't feel like we were missing out. Found many things to do in the area. Loved Falmouth and the area our resort was located. Very picuresque. The resort itself was a sufficient, no frills. Noticed this was typical of most of the resorts in the area. Room was dated, but clean. This resort could use an update/refurbishment. The best point about the resort was the location and the staff. They were very helpful whenever asked and provided some great restaurants tips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at InnSeason Resorts Surfside, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Penguingirlm!

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words for our staff and are happy you enjoyed yourself.

Surfside is undergoing extensive renovations. This year alone we have purchased new King beds, new sliding doors, a new roof, painted all of the buildings and redesigned landscape throughout the property. Next on our list include; new carpeting/flooring, countertops, bathroom renovations, and new drapes and privacy shears.

We hope you come stay with us again and once again thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at InnSeason Surfside the week of June 9th. We had honeymooned in Cape Cod and came back for our anniversary. The weather was not very good this week, but we can't blame that on the resort. Most everything else was a disappointment. The location is fine with the ocean on one side and the Great Pond on the other. When we checked in we opened the refrigerator to find an old onion left behind and water on the bottom. We cleaned up and reported it to the front desk who gave us a "sorry" but not much else. We found out the next day that the frig leaked water every few hours, but I solved that by placing a bowl under the leak. I wasn't going back to the front desk.

The resort does have wireless internet, but you must pay $21.00 for the week. The kitchen does not have a dishwasher so we washed dishes every day on vacation. There is also no washer or dryer. The bath towels might be the worse we ever had in a hotel, old and scratchy.

Perhaps the worse part was that our unit overlooked the indoor pool, which meant we had no privacy whatsoever. Morning and night we were in view of the people at the pool. There are no windows in the unit and the sliding door didn't have a screen so it couldn't be kept open. The air conditioning units were loud and constantly ran. There is daily housekeeping which was a plus. There are no planned activities or fitness center. All in all, if not for the location it would be two stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at InnSeason Resorts Surfside, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello NJSteven!

Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not find the cleanliness of your room exceed your expectations. Our #1 priority is the guest happiness and comfort and we obviously failed to deliver those during your visit with us.

The views at Surfside are spectacular and our guests enjoy it greatly. However, due to the fact that we are just steps from the water in every direction we have to abide by strict conservation laws. This prevents us from having dishwashers and washer and dryers on the property, we understand your frustration but are happy you enjoyed the daily housekeeping service that is provided.

We hope you will try us again in the future, your comfort satisfaction and happiness is our mission and we will focus on accomplishing that mission one guest at a time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

To say that my husband and I were disappointed in this “resort” is an understatement. For years we have wanted to go to Cape Cod, and after reading the resort summary and information on RCI and on the Inn Season website we were excited to go here. As the listing suggests, “With its own private beach directly across the street, guests will enjoy the warm waters of Cape Cod.” It also directly states, “Other amenities you’ll enjoy at this resort include beach access, indoor and outdoor pools, bocce court, shuffleboard and tennis.” We opted for the studio unit since the listing says it has “a partial kitchen, wireless internet access”, and a few other things. All sounds great, right?

Not so much… upon walking into our unit, we discovered that we were misled and that this so-called resort is not a resort at all. A resort would have had new, updated units and amenities. NONE- The bath towels were so thin and rough that we used our own beach towels. We actually felt dirty showering there because the bathroom was so outdated and looked dirty. Brass fixtures that were falling off the walls were used to hold towels. A partial kitchen in a resort would have a stovetop, but instead there was a tiny toaster oven and a microwave not much bigger. It was baffling because there were pots and pans in the unit but no way to use them without a stove or oven. So that was odd. Also, there was only outside access to all rooms.

A resort should also have an on-site restaurant or planned activities. Again, there were none of those. The front desk wasn’t even open 24 hours, and when we needed to check out early we couldn’t get in because they were closed. The air conditioning unit was a joke. It ran constantly, but we had to open the sliding glass door to cool the room off. Several other guests were doing the same thing.

As far as the other things that were promised, there was no private beach. It was open to the public, as we encountered many people accessing it. A private beach would’ve had clearly marked out territory. There was none. The tennis court had huge cracks across it, which kept us from playing. The bocce ball court was nothing more than a dirt pit. The indoor pool was so murky, yellow, and disgusting that we didn’t dare get in. Literally, you could see grime along the pool walls and floor.

We have stayed in two other Silver Crown resorts (and even own a week in one), and this was far, far below the standards of those units. It was such a disappointment. There is no way that this resort that fits better under the classification of motel should be Silver Crown. I am upset that we lost points staying here. I would have rather stayed in a budget hotel room. The most upsetting thing is that this is so misrepresented for what it really is. I have uploaded some pictures, but they are not looking very clear. Trust me when I tell you to stay away from this place, unless you are looking for the type of accommodations I described. If you’re looking for a true resort feel, you will not get it here. There are many, many other nicer places in the area. We hope that RCI does some investigating and forces Inn Season Seaside to change its description or that RCI changes is Resort Status so others are not mislead as we were.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at InnSeason Resorts Surfside, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Love5th,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Surfside Resort. We pride ourselves on our customer service, cleanliness and stunning views. Apparently we failed to deliver these crucial elements during your stay with us.

Our Tripadvisor reviews have remained consistent, for the most part people have enjoyed themselves and are eager to return and see us again. We do in fact offer, and I will quote your review

“Other amenities you’ll enjoy at this resort include beach access, indoor and outdoor pools, bocce court, shuffleboard and tennis.” We opted for the studio unit since the listing says it has “a partial kitchen, wireless internet access”,

This is all true. The management and staff ensure all of our amenities are in good working condition with equipment provided free of charge. Our linen is purchased new each year, I apologize you did not feel the towels were up to Resort standards, I can assure you they are. I also apologize for not having a restaurant on property. Cape Cod is a destination unlike any other and we encourage people to explore all that our wonderful area offers, including fabulous dining options within a short ride!

I am not sure about "fixtures falling off the wall" we employ 5 year round maintenance engineers to ensure the property is maintained and updated regularly. We offer a childrens activity program that starts the 3rd week of June, it is comprehensive and the response to it is always positive and fun. We offer 15 pages each week on things to do in the area and are always more than willing to let people know of the hidden gems that are not always on the maps.

Surfside maintains a Silver Crown rating for both RCI and Interval International. These designations are based on customer surveys and we take them very seriously. We are proud of our Resort and our staff and hopefully you will give us a second chance to make a first impression! Have a wonderful day and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had been trying to get into this location for a few years. The reason to stay here is to be on the water. You just go out your room, cross the road and you are at the beach. When we checked in the staff was very friendly. Our room was not yet ready but they checked us in save the room key. The rooms were clean and it is nice to have a fridge, stove and microwave. It was also nice to have two bathrooms. The only bad part was that the weather did not allow us to enjoy the beach. The outdoor pool was enjoyed by a few ducks and the indoor pool was full of little children enjoying themselves. We will try this location again and hope for better weather. The room had a nice view of the water. If the weather had been warmer we could have sat outside and enjoyed a sunset with drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at InnSeason Resorts Surfside, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Jakel01!


Thank you so much for your review! The only part we cannot control (unfortunately) is the weather! We understand how busy people get and truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did.

Hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had to be on Cape Cod due to a serious family illness. The staff here could not have been more understanding and helpful. We had planned for a week, and ended up having to stay three more days. My granddaughter was with us, and her second birthday fell on our fifth day there. The staff did everything they could to help us make it special in less than jovial circumstances. It was great to have a place with a nice playground and an indoor pool for some fun, even in the winter. And you won't believe the view, with Great Pond behind and the ocean across the street! You can see the lights on Martha's Vineyard in the evening. Historic Falmouth and Woods Hole within minutes in one direction, Provincetown only an hour and a half in the other. Have stayed in fancier places, but never had a more positive experience. Accommodations are very nice (we has 2 full baths AND a whirlpool in our 1 bedroom!) And the owners and staff are incomparable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We decided to spend New Year's Eve on the Cape and Surfside popped up, so we gave it a shot. The staff was very nice and location is good. For a short stay it was fine, not sure I would want to stay more than a few nights. The bed was comfortable. Our unit was a 1 bedroom with 2 baths - wish they had taken the 2 small baths and combined them into 1 large. Unfortunately the bathroom was so small that the towelette paper holder was very difficult to reach. When showering you have to 'fight' with the shower curtain as it sticks to you (they need to install the curve shower curtain holders). While we didn't use the indoor pool we did check it out and was clean well maintained and warm - wish we had. I think this would be a great resort for families as it is across the street from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InnSeason Resorts Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnSeason Resorts Surfside

Address: 134 Menauhant Road, East Falmouth, Falmouth, MA 02536
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your InnSeason Resorts Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseason Resorts Surfside Hotel Falmouth
InnSeason Resorts Surfside Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InnSeason Resorts Surfside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.