We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guacamole!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of anejo Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

anejo Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar
188 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2765
508-388-7631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
MA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great guacamole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a beautiful evening sitting outside eating at Anejo. The guacamole was made tableside and tasted delicious. For dinner I had the tacos with pork and they didn't disappoint either.

Tried the mango margarita which was spicy and sweet. Also tried the raspberry margarita tho it wasn't as special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    135
    45
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

the best Mex food east of the Mississippi IMHO.
Been to New Mexico and CA and can't find good Mexican food in the North East. Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“decent food, good drinks, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

spent a day in Falmouth and decided to stop for some drinks and early dinner. The place was not very busy, and we were seated quickly on the outside patio. The server took out order for drinks and we ordered some guacamole (some of the best we ever had). The drinks were finally brought over by our incredibly rude waitress, who took our order for food (again, with an attitude). In the mean time, the guacamole was made to order at our table by a very nice, young man who was tipped accordingly. We waited for over an hour for our next drink order, and simply appetizer to be delivered by Ms. rudeness, who was more miserable than and hour earlier (still, the place was not very busy during this time of day, so it was not like she was over extended). I had to use the men's room, and low and behold, I found Ms. Rude by the bar, sipping wine from what appeared to be a wine tasting event being held inside. Needless to say, we waited over 3 hours, yes, 3 hours for our check to finally leave. I must say, the drinks were great, and the food was very good. However, given the prices charged and the previous reputation of the place, it fell well short due to the terrible service. I contacted the restaurant upon my return home and issued a complaint, twice, and never heard anything back from anybody. I will never return due to their inability to at least acknowledge that the experience was terrible, as they clearly do not care so long as they keep getting customers to pay high prices for "Mexican" food that is moderate at best. Terrible service and evenly bad customer service equals a no-go for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service improvements needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped in anejo at 2pm on August 12 to have lunch and we were hastily told by the hostess that they were just swamped at lunch, the waitresses needed to catch-up, and told us to come back in ten minutes. Two groups in front of us left I looked around and saw at least eight empty and cleared tables inside, three vacant and cleared tables outside, and six people sitting at the bar so we opted to sit at the bar. Fortunately, the bartender was very good and attentive, even while running the service bar which became quite busy this afternoon. The taco chips and sauce were very good along with the tacos that we ordered. Whoever is managing this restaurant needs to focus on the front desk and insure that patrons are not turned away in order to give the waitresses time to catch-up or get additional wait staff at peak hours during the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

26 minutes before our drink order was taken. Ten minutes later one drink was served and the waitress informed us she forgot what the other 2 were. Five minutes later she came back and askd what one of the was. eventually we got our drinks and placed our food order. the food was actually good. Then trying to get our bill.... We eventually go the hostess to find our waitress. She was nowhere to be seen for at least 10 minutes. Eventually we gave her a credit card. Then she disappeared again. Another 10 minutes or so she walks by and we get her attention. And she say didn't I give you your bill? We told he yes and we gave her our card. She reaches into her apron and pulls out our check and card and say "oh I must have forgot." This wasn't some teenager on a summer job either, it was an adult. And it wasn't a very busy day. I can only imagine how bad our service would be if it were busy. If for some reason you go here and you get a waitress named Faith, run away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed anejo Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cape Cod
Woods Hole, Falmouth
 

Been to anejo Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage anejo Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.