We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do not take reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Onion

Glass Onion
37 North Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540
(508) 540-3730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Waquoit, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“They do not take reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Being a Falmouth resident we frequent this restaurant off season. But during the summer we stay away, why, they do not take reservations unless you have a large group. I Refuse to wait to dine any where, anytime...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    46
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington ,NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Such a pleasant surprise - and a step up from all the other local restaurants in the area. We all ordered two appetizers apiece since the choices all looked wonderful. It was like having a tasting menu and none of them disappointed. I had a special pate mousse and lobster strudel. Others had the oysters, soups and a wonderful cucumber salad with red onions and salmon. Their coffee ice cream was a terrific ending to the meal. Lovely service and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We truly loved everything about this place. The service was excellent and the food was really excellent! I love trying things that we simply wouldn't make at home and the Lobster Corn Chowder was a perfect example of this. Absolutely delicious! The kitchen takes great pride in the freshness and quality of ingredients as well as it's presentation. Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped us with some difficult choices. The wine list is extensive and coincidentally included our favorite Pinot. It was the exclamation point on a wonderful meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Probably my favorite place. Lovely menu and great service. It's expensive but for a special experience, well worth it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We keep coming back for more..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I have been to this restaurant at least 4 times which isn't enough. The food is local and I believe organic when possible which is very important to my husband and I. The wait staff is very nice and not stiff and rigid which really bothers me when you go to a nicer restaurant. I want to relax and enjoy my meal. I don't want to feel like we are being judged. At the start of the meal you receive a amouse bouche and they also finish the meal with a little sweet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion also viewed

 

Been to Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.